what day is it???


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Paleohora
October 19th 2008
Published: October 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Poseidon HotelThe Poseidon HotelThe Poseidon Hotel

Our home for the next few days. By far the schwankiet place so far...it even has a bathtub!!! We live on the 2nd floor left side balcony. Doing laundry on the fly as usual. All the mod-cons are great, but remind us more of home and of how little time we have left here...this trip anyway...
Just wating for Gord to have his breakfast. The last 2 places I have been able to find sheep milk yogurt which is really good. I am in the internet cafe right beside the hotel...this may be the last blog I post as this place closes after today.

Looking into scooter and bicycle rentals today...there is a path along the coast I want to bike on. Gord has developed a bit of a heel spur (actually it was bothering him for a few weeks before we left but he didn't tell me, state secret I guess!!) and daily icing has helped keep it from getting worse), so he prefers to scoot, though he has walked more than I thought he would!!!

Speak of the devil...Gord has just arrived...looking good in his shorts (I think I detcted a minute change in leg colour yesterday...my stars the man's legs are practically powder blue)we are out of here...) and a pair of his low work boots! Kinda has a punk thing going...the boots have made a big difference with how his heel feels...we go for comfort not style. And speaking of style...Annie could you book Gord an appt for a week Wed
Bright and shinyBright and shinyBright and shiny

Here's my theory...Northern Crete, so we hear, is full of package tourism places...judging by the amount of road construction going on here in the south, I suspect it is the next target and people with existing facilities are undating their accomodations to keep competative. It was the bathtub that made me think of this...it is the first tub I have seen travelling in either Italy or Greece. This place costs 40 euro/night.
around 430 pm...send a private message or comment to confirm please...Gord wants to know if you are taping survivor!!! Hope you had a good time in Victoria!! We are off adventuring...B & G


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

the view from here is beautifulthe view from here is beautiful
the view from here is beautiful

pretty hot in the late afternoon though...oh well, there is always the beach.
oh no...not more sunrise pictures!!oh no...not more sunrise pictures!!
oh no...not more sunrise pictures!!

Paleohora is on a penninsula...get to see sunrise and set... It was 22 C when I walked to the sunrise side around 630 this morning...we live on the sunset side tho we didn't have a good one yesterday cuz it was cloudy. I was surprised to see a coffee bar open when I was walking that early...thought I'd get a coffee after sunrise and she was closing up! A missed opportunity to look like a clubber heading home...not a gorky tourist looking for the sunrise!!!
Centre St WestCentre St West
Centre St West

Thats what I call it anyway..runs east to west, or, if you like, west to east...from this point you can see the water on both sides. The sunrise side is a rocky beach and where Gord will go snorkeling, our side is a long sand beach where I'll cool off after my bike ride along the coast.
Centre St EastCentre St East
Centre St East

I just turned around and took this photo...this town is just a lovely size for us...oh my gosh...the gal here is delivering some beer to 3 guys sitting in the part of this place that is across the street!! It's only 10 am...even I draw the line at a beer before 11!! teehee. There are lots of laces here where resteraunts are on both sides of a road or they stretch so far you think you are in a differents one.


20th October 2008

......hiking the Gorge
Oh my... wish I were there for the Gorge....and every other wonderful adventure too! luv, K
20th October 2008

Samaria Gorge
Been there, done that, got the t-shirt (I really do) and it was FANTASTIC! Must go find food!! Lobe B

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb