Sirikari Gorge: They Said it Wouldn't Rain.


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Kissamos
September 16th 2012
Published: September 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After yesterday's long day, this morning was spent taking in the sights and sites of Kastelli, culminating with a lovely lunch in the main square. Satiated, I took a taxi up to Kioliana from where I would embark on a walk through the Sirikari Gorge.

Watching the taxi disappear, I looked around at the solitude of the environment and started walking along the road from the village towards the footpath visible across the valley, winding up to a small col behind a rocky outcrop.

Maintenance work had recently been done on the footpath and it was now loose stone. This made the climb more difficult but at least it was cool compared with the previous days.

Reaching the top, I passed through a couple of gates before beginning the descent towards the little village of Sirikari. The first rumbles of thunder were heard in the distance as I arrived in the hamlet, stopping at a little house where Soula kindly provided me with a drink. Whilst the Cretans are always generous, I find them more so away from the main centres and in the rural areas.

Within minutes of finishing my drink (and lunch), the first drops of rain fell, shortly followed by more peels of thunder. Seconds later, just having donned my waterproofs, the rain teems and the thunder clapped, coming closer.

I walked to the church of Agios Konstantinos, where the path down the gorge starts and, passing through the gate opposite the church, found myself accompanied by streams of water heading into the gorge. Walking through the trees, the worst of the rain was avoided but by now, my trousers were soaked and my boots full of water. I never travel without a rucksack containing waterproof bags, so I was confident that all my belongings were dry, despite the thunder, lightening and rain.

As I journeyed through the gorge, the rain eased until finally, at a Venetian bridge, the first gaps in the cloud allowed the sun to come through. Once out of the gorge, I stopped at a little chapel and enjoyed the strong sun, enabling my trousers to dry very quickly.

Fifteen minutes was enough to ensure I was dry and so I continued across country to the ancient village of Polyrinnia where, back at the taverna previously visited, I enjoyed an evening meal before getting a taxi back to the hotel.

Back in Kastelli, I was informed that a lightening strike had taken out the power to the town and so, in the subdued light, I sat back and enjoyed a beer in the garden.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb