First Week


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Macedonia » Thessaloniki
February 25th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

random statuerandom statuerandom statue

Just a random garden in Athens. This little garden was squashed between two office buildings, and I thought it was unique that they left this little niche to the statue.
It has been a whirlwind since my plane first landed here. This last week has blown by. Literally, in one ferocious gust another one of my weeks in Greece is gone. I have met and made friends, ate new foods every night, moved into a new home, discovered a new city, toured all of the Peloponnese, spent 14 hours on train, started classes, learned how to say key phrases (thank you/ I'm sorry) in Greek, and watched the sun set on the Mediterranean. I’ve seen so much in the last two weeks that the memory has morphed into a conglomerate mass of marble. I have visited Athens, Delphi, Corinth, Nafpaktos, Nemea, Olympia, and Sparta all in 10 days, I have enjoyed all of it. The whole trip was marvelous, and when I have a little more time I will write and post pictures of all the places and ruins I have seen.

I have been busy lately with my classes. They are all very interesting, and I am exciting to be learning things of the past in a place where that history can still be seen today! In my Ancient Greek Philosophy class, for example, while studying Aristotle we will
AcropolisAcropolisAcropolis

This is a veiw from the Acropolis of modern day Athens. You can see a little of the theater in the bottom.
be taking a day to visit the place where Aristotle tutored Alexander the Great.

While everything is going well for me, there have been some interesting events in the political realm here in Greece. Currently the Greek government is in the process of privatizing the universities (so I have been told). This has made major conflictions within the universities especially so with Aristotle University the largest in Thessaloniki and the one I attend here. They actually voted within the universities to form a sort of bill to pass on to the government, and because of this there have been major conflictions between the political student groups. The democratic and communist groups have been known to come to blows. As a reaction the acts of the government the students have taken over the campus. Literally it is under student occupation. Classes have halted or continue secretly. None of this however effects my classes, although I have had to do I little sneaking around myself. So things are a little tense. Riots do happen, but so far they have been more like giant parties (wine and the grill included). The day before the vote was the largest so far. They blocked the entire road! Egnatia once the famous road of the Romans and now a main 6 lane road was blocked. Some fencing was torn down, banners unfurled, a stage was set up, and a band played to accompany the sentiments of the students. I am not really sure what is happening now, but things seem to have gotten a bit more peaceful.

So here I am, looking out the window occasionally at cyprus trees and terrocotta roofs. I can see the sea from my seat here, but it is hazy because of the rain. I can't believe how blessed I am to be here. I am really happy. Thank you all for your coments and emails that I got. I would love to answer them all (hopefully I will still) but right now I am trying to juggle quite a bit; I love to hear from you all though. Thank you so much!


Advertisement



26th February 2007

I am seeing through your eyes
Dear Carolyn, Thank you for blogging your adventures. Wish i could be there to enjoy the food and sights with you, notice Aunt Nita puts food first! Please be safe, but enjoy! All is well in North Carolina. Glen, your grandaddy has had a terrible cold but says he is better. Snow has pounded the northeast, we have had some low temps and high winds. I love you, Aunt Nita
26th February 2007

hi!
Carolyn! I can't believe you are really there! I hope you stay safe with all the rioting going on. I am loving your pictures and everything. Oh, and I am going to France next semester! I just got accepted and we (22 of us grovers) are going to Nantes, 2 hours west of Paris. I just thought I would let you know that I miss you!! I just saw a picture of you, so this is perfect timing. I hop you keep safe, and that you have a wonderful time! thanks for the updates :)
26th February 2007

more pictures, more pictures ; )
Your words make me want to see more pictures!
26th February 2007

Carolyn- I'm so glad you're having such a good time! It sounds beautiful there, and pangs of jealousy are hitting me as I look outside at our snow-covered ground. Can't wait for more stories! :)
28th February 2007

Love reading and seeing pictures!!
Hello my lovely little niece Carolyn, I am enjoying reading and seeing your adventures come to life. I have to live my future vicariously through others, cause I know I will never travel that far away. So keep the excerpts coming as often as you get the chance. I love you and pray for you, Uncle Dale
6th March 2007

Lucky you!
Dear Carolyn, I'm so thrilled you are having this privilege of traveling in Greece. Am enjoying hearing of all the sights and neat experiences! Have fun! Love you always--your old teacher--Mrs. D

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb