Monastery


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Central Macedonia » Mount Olympos
June 18th 2011
Published: June 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, after being in Thessaloniki for four days, we got on the bus and drove away. We were heading to Meteora to visit the monasteries. We passed Mt. Olympus on the way, but I never got a good picture from the bus. Sorry.

My pictures and my descriptions will not do justice to the stunning beauty I saw today. I’ve seen amazing. I’ve seen unimaginable. I’ve seen wonders of God’s awesome power to blend together his beautiful creation with the things of man. And that is what I saw today. When you are in the presence of such natural beauty and such divine devotion, you can’t help but be touched.

There were six working monasteries, four for monks and two for nuns, and we could have visited each one if we had the time. However, we were only able to visit one. I was not allowed to take any pictures once I was inside the monastery. It seemed to me that every inch of wall space and ceiling space was covered with paintings. All scenes were from the Bible.

Next we headed to Pertouli which is high up in the Pindros Mountains for lunch. I’ve included pictures this time of the food we had to eat. The food here in Greece is amazing. I’m trying everything and finding that I’m enjoying almost all of it. I love the different blends and my taste buds have been truly awakened. Some foods that have a real different texture are still difficult for me though.

After lunch, we heard a professor speak to us about the natural environment in Greece, especially the forestry in the Pindros mountain range. He took us a little farther up the mountain to an old church and then to a peak. Man, we were high up and it went straight down.



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

First Pic. of MonasteryFirst Pic. of Monastery
First Pic. of Monastery

just from different angle.
On the CeilingOn the Ceiling
On the Ceiling

This was right before going into hte Monastery.
LunchLunch
Lunch

Starting to enjoy lunch.
PeakPeak
Peak

I should have started singing songs from the Sound of Music.


18th June 2011

wow
These pictures are breathtaking!!
19th June 2011

YES!
Great photos, Jeremy! Keep 'em coming!!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb