On my own, to beautiful Island of Spetses, Greece


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Spetses
August 1st 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Port in SpetsesPort in SpetsesPort in Spetses

A very windy evening
Hi Again, first of all, unfortunately travel blog lost allot of entries with a failure, so I can not find the pictures I had and the Rome information and pictures. I will re enter some of them, but I am so busy traveling right now. Slowly I will re add my notes or new ones and pictures. I may have to do this after the fact. Too bad but I guess I am not in control of that. Anyways I will write a few more notes and later download some more pictures. Just want to let you know what is happening. Since last time, I went with Arlene and Nick to the island of Evia, city of Nea Styra. We sure had a nice time. Allot of people out each evening. We swam each day. Finally the weather hot spell broke and it is more comfortable at anywhere from 25-26 at night to 30-31 in the day. We stayed the weekend, and then on Monday we came back to Athens, went to 2 markets and grocery shopping. On Tuesday we made a fantastic shopping trip downtown on the metro. So So many people. The sales are good. Then on Wed I
Island of SpetsesIsland of SpetsesIsland of Spetses

I really enjoyed the 2 days here.
was off again island hopping on my own. Went on my own on the metro, easy now, to the very large port of Pieras, then onto a fast ferry to island of Spetses with 1 1/2 hr ride Found a place stayed over one night, went swimming and sat and ate overlooking on the seas. What a nice place to see. My place was about 300 meters up a nice walk. But with all the narrow streets, it is like a maze, I left my place the first time and landed up getting lost a bit. I could not believe how far away I walked and then asked for directions and got back to the port and believe it I started back again and found the hotel. wow. On this island no one is allowed to use vehicles except the village. therefore there are scooters all over the place. I had fun watching the very fast taxi boats take people here and there. Also there were many horse carriages to take tourists around the town. Nice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Walkway in narrow streets of SpetsesWalkway in narrow streets of Spetses
Walkway in narrow streets of Spetses

note the design in the walkway


Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb