Random Adventures in Greece: Day 2


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Piraeus
November 10th 2007
Published: November 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I wake up to light coming in the window. I check my watch to see that it is 11.00 There's no way we slept in that late. We went to bed by 9 (average between the two of us and we are two hours ahead! Why did I switch my watch off 24 hour time. I'm to lazy to reach back and look out the window but i can see through the crack in the curtains that its 11 at night. I wake up again at two for cars honking and again at five and eight. I think we ended up rlling out of bed around 11...that isway more sleep thatn you should get on a given night...not to mention a lot of time to waste when only in Greece for two and a half days. I couldn't beliv it! What a waste of morning. We decided to check out Piraeus. The metro was half hour and we get of to high winds and lots of boats. For 32 Euro combined we get return tickets to Egina an island out in the mediterrean and our boat leaves at 2. We waste some time and about uarter to we walk over and it looks dead. We ask a guy on the ship when we board and he replies "No run today -- bad weather-- go tomorrow." How depressing! We already took pictures with 'our' boat and talked about the sea breeze we were going to buy for eachother and 'no-go' for today. When we go to return our tickets the woman goes "yes - bad weather" so matter of factly. I'm glad she knew that when she sold us the tickets. At least we got our money back without a problem. THe only downfall now is that it's already two in the afternoon...what do we do now?

We were itching for adventure now. We hopped on a train to Korinthos to see the Ancient Ruins (10 euro combined) The train starts filling up and that woman sat across from us. And you know this woman. Bright Hawain shirt and enough whiskers on her face to share. You hope she doesn't ahve to get in and out of the seat often and she has that scent which you get just enough of when she sat down that you hope it doesn't get too hot on the train or that she doesn't have to put her arms up for any reason. But she's as friendly and jolly as she is round. She was always smiling and when I woke up from my little nap she laughed and told me to go back to slep that she'd wake me at our stop. There was no way I could sleep again now there was blue water next to me. It was tha perfect blue. The indescribable blue that mesmorizes you to stare at forever. I was brought back to relity by my smiling robust new friend giving me her train map and telling me where to get off and when and here is the time table for my return. We knew we coould have figured it out on our own but love taking the help from people like that. So we took it with a smile. I think it makes them feel good --adding a little something to their day just like I feel when I give someone good directions or advice. I don't take it from anyone though - definitely not from the creepy cab drivers or store front workers. THey have this way of dragging you in wih their 'help' We get off the train (and I thought about noah and his love of trains wishing i could take him on these trains with me) ready for the great ruins of Korinthos by the sea. But wait--I see no ruins and definitely no see at the train station. We looked like we were dropped off at a deserted parin glot in the middle of nowhere. We walk outside into the 50 mph winds looking like lost American Tourists. We decide to leave the station and look for ruins. There had to be signs, right? We see a Greek grocery store (as if there is any other kind in Greece...what an american statement i decided) and go in for goodies and some presents for people. After spending more time than you should in a grocery store in Greece we head out looking for ruins. We cross an intersection after maybe half a mile of walking "hey! Corinth Ancient ruins this way...7km." "What? That's like 10 miles right?" "Ugh, they're probably closed now anyways." So it's 17.30 and starting to get dark so we decided to walk in the opposite direction and walk down the road more to see what we find. The andswer is not much. Everything was closed except for a few bakeries and seriously that was it.

We encountered some tumble weed in the road. Honest-to-God tumbleweed blowing through the streets causing havoc. It was a god random moment to make us laugh at our current situation. A little further down I see the car I'll be able to afford after this trip: The car only exists from the dashboard up. We keep walking even though it's dark out because there is a traffic light ahead and that usually means there is something going on - no not exactly. Eventually we make our way to the edge of town and turn around' back to the station without seeing any ruins. When we get back to the "Corinth: Ancient Ruins this way" sign, Rose says "Wait, wouldn't 7 km only be 4 miles?" We both thought about it then nodded. Rose adds in "We probably just about walked that tonight" We both nod' defeated. it was too late and too dark to try it now, we were just going to go back to the station. Our ride back wasn't nearly as exciting as the ride there. No expectations, our spirits crushed. There was no bright, jolly woman, and there was definitely no daydreaming to Missy Higgins getting lost in the wonderfully blue Medetarenean. It was sad.

We dropped our "greek Groceries" back at the hostel and headed out into the streets looking for some fun. We bundle up because it's starting to feel like winter out. We roam up and down the streets for two hours. The only thing open is some pasteries and restaurants. our only friends are the homeless of Athens aka the dogs. It's a Saturday night and nothing is open for us to do...waht is the deal? We walked past a store with red foil wallpaper and Christmas decorations. In my hat and gloves and sipping a tea it made me think of NYC...just quieter and less bustling. I'll miss going into NYC this Christmas. We give in for the second time today, frozen to the bone, the ice cream we ate probably didn't help either, and head back to the room. The shower was amazing and warmed me up (although my lumpy reflection in the mirror made me shiver) After writing a few postcards and reading some Frances Mayes I try to sleep, but the honking at 2am keeps me awake until three....


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



13th November 2007

Dear Rose, you brave brave girl traveling with danger child.

Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1126s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb