Day 14: Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
May 17th 2013
Published: May 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

AthensAthensAthens

The view from the top of our hotel in Athens
Today we got up really early for our flight to Athens, Greece. When we arrived at the airport we found out that the air traffic controllers in Greece were going on strike at the time we were supposed to land so our flight was delayed by 2hrs. We landed in Athens but missed our train to Kalambaka and the next one was at midnight, so we decided to stay in Athens for the night and try again in the morning. We made our way to the hotel by train which was a bit tricky taking two suitcases. So far we are amazed at how nice the people are here in Athens. They have helped us with getting our luggage up and down the stairs and stopping and helping us when we looked lost (kind of lucky we haven't been mugged yet!). Very different experience for the Italians! Except one time when we needed to get off the train we had to push past some people to get off but unfortunately I didn't quite make it out of the door far enough and the door closed on me. I remember this happening to Uncle Peter in the London Underground and I couldn't stop laughing, well now I got my payback! We made it to the hotel, lugging our suitcases everywhere (kind of wish we had a backpack at this point). The hotel was a 4/5 star hotel which Nakita found cheap off the internet. We decided to explore the hotel and made our way up to the top floor where they had a restaurant. We got up there and found out that it looks right at the Acropolis! So we decided to spoil ourselves and get dinner there with the Acropolis in the background! This hotel is by far the nicest one we've ever experienced. We had a room each...in our room. Better than the Regent Hotel we went to in Rome where everyone dreaded going back there in our last days of Contiki. I think I got an infected toe from that place as our shower wouldn't drain the water so we were standing in a trough of dirty water. Anyway at present we are on the train to Kalambaka to see the rock top monasteries of Meteora. Will probably post this when I get there. Bye for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

AthensAthens
Athens

The Parthenon


17th May 2013

Hi Melissa, I've been so worried. I've been thinking of you and Nakita such alot. I knew that day you had to get a flight to Athens and train was a busy day. You did it both of you. I'm so proud of you. Stupid traffice controllers. Uncle Peter and David sent e-mails to us that you hadchanged and decided to stay in Athens for the night. I love reading your blog. I was so pleased to hear the good decisions you and Nakita had made. you are both world class travellers. he he. I hope your toe gets better quickly. I'm going to look up what the acropulus building is today. I hope you have another great day. Much luv Mum. p.s. thanks for the txt. It arrived at 4.30 a.m. I got it and woke Dad up to read it. He had trouble finding his glasses. We were pleased to get it.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb