Last minute Athens


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
August 27th 2009
Published: August 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The next day, Sunday the 26 of April, is our last half day in Athens. We fly out at 4pm in the afternoon via Vienna. In the morning dad continues to gain quality snooze time whilst I muster Liz out of bed for a quick breakfast, followed by a last minute walk through Athens.
We check out the parliament and the national garden. We walk past the site of the old Olympics built in 4 BC. And head onto the temple of Olympian Zeus and Hadrian’s Ach. Even though the temple is now in ruins its really amazing to see this creation. Construction of the temple began in 6th century BC but was not completed until 2nd century AD. It’s huge and I’m not the only one impressed.

Though Liz and I have already seen it, and Liz has climbed up it, I convince her to go check out the Acropolis Parthenon again, as I really want to see this amazing creation with my own eyes. We climb up and also see a few more dogs chilling see my note about Athens and the stray dogs.

After checking out the Parthenon I realized we still had time so we walked towards Filopappos Hill and saw the Pnyx and the Theatre of Filopappos. We wanted to check out the Monument of Filopappos well I did but I realized we were already short for time and dad could potentially be stressing now.

So we went to catch the metro back. On the way the metro I also managed to find a brown belt which I unsuccessfully haggled to 3.5e and he wasn’t going any lower on the price.
We got back to the hotel packed grabbed our bags and Liz got a frapachino and then we ended up getting the bus to the airport. At the airport we ran into people from my work, before we boarded the plane. I contemplated on the plane to get off in Vienna - we were there for 2 hours, take the dad and Krunch to the city so that they could see a bit of Vienna.



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Yes people its me.Yes people its me.
Yes people its me.

To see this contraption in action check out this[url=http://www.travelblog.org/Europe/Portugal/Lisbon-and-Tagus-Valley/Lisbon/blog-398295.html] video [/url] about 2 minutes into the video
Do the Greeks forecast the future...Do the Greeks forecast the future...
Do the Greeks forecast the future...

That on June 25, 2009 he would die and hence they would be the first to raise a monument to him


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb