I made it to Greece!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
July 6th 2005
Published: July 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, I'm here. My flight arrived two nights ago very late. I spent that night in the airport with a woman from Arizona who was going to see her daughter in Crete. Thankfully, the hotel showed mercy and let me have a room before check-in (mostly, because I wandered to the first chair and fell asleep). Last night my roomie and I went to the Acropolis at night. You can't go in, but there are tons of people out and about. We found a great cliff that overlooked the city. It was very pretty. Today, I went to the Roman Agora, the Acropolis and the Ancient Agora. After that, I did a bit of window shopping in the flea market area. I have learned to love the cheap wonderfulness of gyros! Where else in Europe can you fill up on delicious food for one euro! I bought nail polish today...that was really exciting! And yesterday, I found conditioner...I've been looking since Germany! Athens is a good city, but quite possibly the loudest place on earth. If I ever decide to get-rich-quick I will open a car horn replacement shop in Athens. Another random observation...everyones AC window unit drips water, so much so that it feels like you are being rained on while you walk down the sidewalk. At first, I thought it was bird poo...which wouldn't be the first, nor the second time this trip. I had planned to go to Thessaloniki next, but I don't want to go to another big city. So instead I shall follow the crowd to the islands. The day after tomorrow, I will catch a ferry to Ios. It is supposed to be the cheapest island that has good diving. I have booked a hostel for 2 nights there and will decide what to do from there. I might go to Corfu for a few days. I will meet Henrich in Alicante, Spain for the weekend of the 16 & 17. That means I have to leave Greece by the 12th or so to get there in time. Tomorrow, I am going to a few more ancient sites and to a couple of museums. I'm looking forward to coming home and seeing all of you.

Advertisement



7th July 2005

Hello
Sounds like you are having a blast! Have been sending prayers your way. Glad that you weren't in London this morning. Many people died and even more were injured. Will continue to pray for you, your travels and that you have loads of fun. Luv U girl and miss ya!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb