Acropolis, Delphi and the Mediterranean Sea!


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens » Glyfa
September 23rd 2011
Published: September 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Kalimera!

Friday I was finally able to be a tourist (even though I do technically live in Greece) and visit the antiquities of the ancient agora and Acropolis in Athens. Words or pictures cannot really describe what it is like to view the remains of the beginning of civilizations. The buildings and temples are of a much larger magnitude than I have ever imagined...I felt small in comparison. I stood in awe of these buildings as I tried to envision the ancient civilization in its glory. I wondered just who stood in the same places I did many centuries ago.

Saturday I got to visit Dephi, and the antiquities relating to the Oracle of Delphi and Apollo's temple. The landscape was absolutely breathtaking. It actually was so beautiful I almost teared up. I think it is unfair for one country to be so magnificent in natural beauty.

Sunday was the first day that I was not required to do anything for the orientation course, so I decided to take a trip to the beach! I was excited to find it within 45 minutes of traveling and it only cost me .70 euros, which is about $1.40 USD, via public transportation. The Mediterranean is clear blue, so clear that the ocean floor can be seen perfectly. The surrounding islands and calm breeze, coupled with warm sunshine made for a very relaxing, stress-free day!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb