Mwaksabier?


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
August 1st 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hallo my brothas and sistas! It is August, which means something momentous will happen in 30 days. The first person to comment about what that thing is wins a cookie.
CG-- Danke, mon petit lapin! (that was so Frerman). I hope you're also well and can't wait to chat it up with ya in a month!
Victorshizzy-- a Graf, from what I understood, was roughly a count here. Maybe a duke, but I think a count. I hope "Graf" is right too, since I haven't bothered to look it up.

So not too much has happened since my last update. Friday was pretty interesting. My friend Chieko and I went into die Altstadt von Düsseldorf, where we went to a modern art museum and some other interesting places. I ate some italian gelato (always good), München Bratwurst (which was awesome), drank a beer at one of the oldest (or maybe the oldest?) brewery in Düsseldorf, where I also ate... (dun dun dun) raw pork. It would be tasty if I could get past the texture and knowledge that it's raw pork. So Germans eat raw fish and some raw red meat, but still no steak really. The museum was pretty nice, although most modern art is not my thing. I do like Rene Magritte, Salvador Dali, and Jackson Pollock though. There were some artists of whom I've never heard that I really liked also. Stephanie would be so jealous to know that there were a couple cool Andy Warhols. I was excited that Pollock's #32 was there though. So cool, really. There were no Dalis, alas, but there were Magrittes, Matisses (for fans of him...) and even quite a bit of Picasso. I actually liked one of his (Picasso's, that is)! Oh and there were a few Chagalls. I hope that is spelled right. Oh well. There's a reason I dropped French for German... 😉

I also saw the Rhein again, and the big ol Rhein tower. There's a maritime museum too in that area, and somewhere along there is the open-air movie theater on the Rhein. I saw a couple Platzes also, one with a big statue of, I believe, Kaiser Wilhelm I. That's purely from memory though. I took pictures. I see a lot of dogs around. Pets are not as big here, but quite a few dogs. Some are soooo adorable. I saw a dog the other day that was absolutely massive... it was more like a small pony. People take pets onto the S-bahn trains too, which is interesting.

Other than the raw pork I have nothin really interesting to say. Hopefully I'll get to go to Hannover soon, and I'm not sure how those Netherland plans of Micha's are shaping up. Oh yea, and people get charged an extra .30 Euro for cokes and such that they get back when they bring the bottle back to the store. Nifty huh? It's only for plastic bottles. And there are no plastic grocery bags here in a lot of places. Actual stores, like book stores and clothing stores etc, have them though. And it's finally cool!!! It's in the 70s now, and was for the weekend as well, which is really nice.

Oh, and the title is the phonetic spelling of Bayernish for "Möchtest du ein Bier?" It is so funny that Germany has as many sectional differences as the US does even though it is so much smaller. Berlin, Bayern, etc all have dialect differences... Bayern probably being the weirdest. Stefan's girlfriend's father even joked that Bayern wasn't Germany, just a totally separate country. Even Düsseldorfers make fun of Kölners (for good reason of course!) and they're about 15 minutes apart by train. And "Ich weiß nicht" in Bayernish is (phonetically) "Ee voh-es nit!" But I know only 3 Bayernish phrases, so no one has to worry about me speaking the crazy forms of German. 😉

Okay, I'm done putting you to sleep. Don't worry, those keyboard imprints in your forehead will fade.

Advertisement



1st August 2006

are you saying there are sane forms of German?
j/k so will you toast with korn (sp?) in 30 days, or do you not feel the need to validate your age through alcohol consumption? I want a chocolate chip cookie. I bet you'll pick up some regional things anyway. I say some things a little differently in Russian because of being in Sankt-Peterbourg. :) can't wait to see you in September... although if you've turned too German we may end up reenacting the Ice Battle after the invasion of the Teutonic Knights. ;) (just kidding-- love ya, girl) ~N~
10th August 2006

No Steak!?! I'm offended. :)

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb