First day in Regensburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
December 13th 2010
Published: December 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have survived my first day as a language student and am sitting here doing homework in my room on the fourth floor of this modern built but old style building in the old town. The language school adjoins, so we can just walk through at 9am.

Before that I raced down into the street to a cafe to buy coffee and a croissant. To be honest, I didn't really want a croissant, but that was the easiest and quickest choice. Hopefully I'll graduate to being able to buy what I really want sometime soon.
It is quite challenging to spend the day scrolling through your mind trying to find the words you need to express yourself. "What might that person ask me?" "What should I have said?"

I was subjected to a placement test and put in a very pleasant intermediate class with 8 other students. There's a Japanese girl who is hoping to study piano and classical music, an Anglican priest from Wales who has been posted to Luxembourg and feels at a disadvantage because his colleagues all speak 4 languages, but prefer to converse with each other in German; a Greek girl who wants to study at uni, a Malaysian girl who is married to a German and various Spanish people. Most interesting. And of course the course materials are challenging and substantial. We got into a heated debate about climate change. One of the Spanish engineers is a total sceptic and of course in stereotypical Spanish style argues his case loudly and with great passion. So different from my usual classes of docile Orientals.

The teacher is most impressive. Friendly and helpful. She works very hard. There is a great emphasis on grammar and accuracy. Today we were doing the imperfect tense. Lots to learn by heart tonight. But luckily I already know it, from 30 years ago. Just as well, as my mind is overloaded today. I have opted for additional one-to-one sessions three afternoons a week for an hour. Blackboards are still in use and overhead projectors as well as lots of flip charts with neatly drawn lists of conjugations and declensions. No data projectors or computers. But an accompanying CD to listen to on my computer.

It is wonderful being right in the heart of the city. I was able to go to a shop and buy stationery in the half hour coffee break. But I quickly hurried back to escape the cold. My classmate told me you can't go out without thermal underwear on as well. But then you overheat in the classroom. Lucky the bedroom is near so you can go back and change.

Regensburg is a most beautifully preserved old city, just the right size, friendly and interesting. There is a delightful Christmas market in the cathedral square every evening. Gluwein, bratwurst, decorations and craft items for sale. Lots of people, mostly locals seem to be there. I guess it is a tradition to draw people out into the community despite the cold and the dark. I saw quite a few very elderly people being pushed in wheelchairs, under piles of blankets. It seems to be much more for the locals than tourists.

Just feeling very tired. Still haven't adjusted to sleeping 8 hours straight. Last night I feel asleep exhausted at 8pm and was woken up by my neighbour talking loudly on her mobile phone at 12.45am. Stayed awake for a few hours jumping up and down looking out the window at the snow etc. Was supposed to go out to a Spanish themed pub for Tapas at 8pm tonight but was trying to catch up to my classmates. So....all is well. Seems like a good choice.

Advertisement



13th December 2010

Great! Have enjoyed your reports so far ... but I think I haven't read the second ... all sounds PERFECT ... for my part, I suddenly realised today walking down from Central to Railway Square that I'll be going to an Italian restaruant in Camberwell (London) this Saturday night ... xx bj
14th December 2010

Blog 3
I have the same comments as before--your writing reminds me of Betty McDonald who made everything she did, & everyone she met,extremely interesting. Thanks so much. Love Bubu

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb