Never Assume


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
August 15th 2009
Published: August 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hofgut Bubenrod
Near Koenigsberg, Germany
Saturday, August 15 2009

Given that I've been here on the farm for a week, I thought it a good idea to write up some of the experiences I've had thusfar. Germany has definitely been interesting, and there are things that need to be said. But before I get to that, a very special birthday wish to my mom. Happy birthday Mom, I hope that it's a good one!

On to other matters. Well, I've been here in Germany for a week and haven't set back US-German relations to the early 20th century. Actually, the farm I'm at is quite interesting. Rather than being a small couple-run farm, it's more of a collective or commune. There are apartments which younger people rent out that have access to a common kitchen and living space, and I'm working for the son of the owner. We're working on several things, including renovating a centuries old house in the nearby village. I've been doing a lot of weed whacking, some demolition at the house, painting, gardening (though most of the garden is strictly in maintenance mode for August), fence-building and the like. It's been a bit different from my other WWOOF experiences, but good.

Truth be told, this past week was kind of hard for me. After the insanity of last month, I left NC craving a bit of normalcy. For some reason, I just felt like heading back to the 9-5 gig and throwing in the towel on travel. However, I think part of that might be simply missing my friends, and part of it because I was tired from a lack of sleep. But at any rate, I will be sticking out the travel plan for at least two more months, because I know that Sara & I will have a fantastic time in Munich and Venice. So, on the mental health front, I'm still a passing student. Just a bit of melancholy.

One big difference in this stay has been the presence of other helpers. Last week, there were two girls from Indonesia traveling together (yeah, I said Malaysia last entry, but my host is not that good at remembering who comes from what country). I envied them a bit because they had each other to travel with. There was also a girl from Israel (again, not Australia) who was traveling solo. Between the folks here at the farm and the other helpers, there are always people to talk to and have fun with. And it seems as if every other night is a party. Truth be told, I'm going to have to cut this entry a bit short because I'm heading to a birthday party now. We're making a bit of a love parade from the farm to the village, then coming back for a big bonfire.

So, to wrap it up, let's throw some lessons down:
Lessons Learned:
Everyone gets frustrated. My host has been really good, but it's been a bit frustrating for him to have to corral us helpers sometimes. Just do your best to help and make things work.
One man's trash is another man's treasure. Those stinging nettles make a darn good soup and, when steamed, taste a bit like collards.

OK, I hear the disco starting, it's time to roll. James out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb