Meißen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Saxony » Meissen
July 10th 2012
Published: July 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Meißen ChinaMeißen ChinaMeißen China

Mom's tea cup!
Yesterday morning started with a walk to the bakery all by myself! Proudly, I was able to order the rolls and bienenstich for our breakfast, pay, and find my way back the the bungalow on my own while Ralf did his morning run. I fumbled through the order in German and then at the end the clerk asked "Is there anything else"?! Still glad I tried in German but I have found that many shopkeepers and waitresses speak some English and are happy to oblige. Many restuarants even offer a menu written in English upon request. Germany is a very friendly country from what I have experienced.

After breakfast we took off for Meißen where we toured the famous Meißen china museum. We had a chance to see how the pieces are made, a painstakingly manual process with many steps. I thought I would pick up a tea cup for my mom since she loves her daily tea and the Meißen china has a significant history in Germany but looked at the price tag of the first cup I saw in the shop and it was 860 Euros. Love you Mom, but decided maybe another souvenier would be more fitting! There were pieces for sale up to 70,000 Euro's.

Next a quick glimpse from the outside of the Cathedral of Meißen which was the headquarters for the Catholic Bishop years ago. Then we countinued on a beautiful drive through the vineyard lined hills of the area to Schloss Wackerbart Winery where I took a lot of these pictures. It was so pretty there and very quiet since it was a Monday. Ines meet us there for a glass of Riesling and conversation in the courtyard. From there she showed me a little place she called the Hobbit Place because it's a cute little place that looks like the settings in the JR Tolkien books. Once again, I was very impressed with her knowledge of American literature and history. She talked about how they had to memorize the Martin Luther King Speech "I have a Dream" in school and she was still able to recite part of it! She has inspired me to learn more about the history in Germany and specifically the language. It's just my opinion, but my experience here has been that people are much more aware of history of both their country and other parts of
Meißen ChinaMeißen ChinaMeißen China

Check out the price tag
the world than most Americans. Then, at her suggestion, we climbed 390 stairs to a restuarant called Spitzhaus for a lovely meal. The view was breathtaking and we were even able to see the Our Lady Church in Dresden which wa at least 20 miles away! The meal was excellent but dessert was definately the highlight. I would call it a chocolate fondue but that would be an understatement. (See picture!)

That's all for now. I have today's adventures to write about but will do that tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Meißen ChinaMeißen China
Meißen China

The assembly person meticulously assembled the pieces.
Meißen ChinaMeißen China
Meißen China

Painting...there are at least 3 stages of handpainting and ovens to get the final colors.
The Scloss Wackerbart WineryThe Scloss Wackerbart Winery
The Scloss Wackerbart Winery

I knew there was a reason I ave been saving those corks all these years!
The Scloss Wackerbart WineryThe Scloss Wackerbart Winery
The Scloss Wackerbart Winery

The type of dessert offering is everywhere!


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb