The Biggest pin wheel EVER!!!!!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Mainz
September 8th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=GNpcZF3vK8Q]

Holiday on Ice 65th Anniversary biggest pin wheel


I was fortunate enough to be asked to join in the biggest pinwheel ever this weekend. It was put together for Holiday on Ice’s 65th anniversary and we had 65 skaters join onto a pinwheel for Guiness book or world records to create the biggest pinwheel ever!! So, all of the Energia cast was needed and members from the other shows to accomplish this. Thursday after Energia rehearsals we jumped on a bus for Mainz, Germany to rehearse and then do it live for German television on Sunday afternoon. A five hour bus ride and we finally arrived around one in the morning. On Friday we left for an arena that I later learned we will be going back to in December to perform our show! It was a pretty huge arena and I’m soooo looking forward to performing. Once there I got to meet Robin Cousins who is a wonderful choreographer and has been with Holiday forever. I was so thrilled that I got the chance to work with him. It was a long day but fun never the less and I partook in my very first pinwheel!!

The next day we went to a different place where the actual event would take place. It was outdoors and made specifically for our wheel. It was much wider than a normal rink so it was alot like a square. It was wonderful to be skating outside eventhough it was cold and raining off and on... Our outfits I must say were rediculous. We had grey longsleeved leotards and pinkish lavender ballet skirts, we looked like hippos I'm not even joking. Saturday late afternoon we did a prerecording of the number and we managed to do everything! Guiness book of world records was there and they counted that wheel as the biggest pin wheel ever with 65 people rotating together. So Sunday the pressure felt a little less since we had already captured the record but it was still going to be taped live. Thankfully we did it and 3.5 million people were watching from all over Germany. I was sooo excited to be a part of that and it was a wonderful experience! It was a once and a life time deal and I was in it!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



13th September 2008

Yeah!
Congrats on your biggest pin wheel ever!!! You are the most beautiful looking "hippo" I've ever seen. Keep having fun. Ellen
14th September 2008

Congratulations!!!
So far, so good....I love the photos and video!!!!! Now, it is time to work hard to get this show on the road.....LOVE
15th September 2008

Great Pics!
Caroline, we'll be following your blog. Thanks for sending the link! Looks like you are having fun!
15th September 2008

Congrats on the pinwheel #46
Yeah Caroline! I saw you several times in the video. Looks like you are having fun!!! I am wondering how large the cast of Energia is after seeing 65 skaters on the ice at once (I am sure they are not all cast from your show)? Keep sending the photos!!!
17th September 2008

Beautiful Caroline!
It looks like you are having so much fun! I think about you all the time Miss Caroline! I miss you so much!
18th September 2008

WOW
WOW!!! Look at you. I am so very thrilled and happy for and admittedly a bit jealous with the lifetime opportunity you have. What a dream come true!!!!!!!!!!!! I wish Grandma Miller could see you now ... perhaps she does. I hope that you will continue to share so that I may live vicariously through you. Back in MN we are doing really well. Callie LOVES her pink blanket and is now 15 months old. As of last week she is officially walking. Colin and I are ready, well not really, but are trying for a second child. I am not getting any younger, sadly. My dear, live out this opportunity and dream and take us with you as you go as I am so happy for you. Please keep in touch and travel safe. LOL Jen, Colin and Callie
6th October 2008

Jenny!!!
hi lovely I wanted to say thank you for the comment and that I miss you terribly! Yes I will continue to write little blogs so you can travel along with me! I still would love to meet callie someday soon and you have all my prayers for another child. anyways I'll keep you posted on whats going on! lots of love

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb