Kaiserslautern, the only town to party


Advertisement
Published: June 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Istanbul to Munich to Kaiserslautern

Flight from Istanbul to Munich, then train to Kaiserslautern


My tentMy tentMy tent

pretty much had the whole thing to myself, i guess not many girls are interested in soccer
10th June Saturday. I wake up on the plane in Munich to see an absolutely beautiful sunrise. I was a little confused as to how to get to Kaiserslautern (will now be known as K-Town) and as it was so early in the morning and everything was closed I slept on a bench with my pack to cuddle. My ticket ended up costing me 79 Euros (bloody expensive) but the train was very comfortable and the scenery was very beautiful and green. The houses are very different to what I have seen on my travels so far, cute little white things with brown high pitched roofs, very village looking. When I arrived in K-Town I had a 20min walk with my pack and I guess 3 weeks of not using it really made a difference. I eventually make it with the help of some other Aussies encouraging me along the way with “your almost their”. The tents are all set up on soccer pitches and there is only one other girl so far in my girls only 10 person tent. After watching England beat Paraguay I head to the streets and see what’s going on. The town itself is very cute
The local schoolThe local schoolThe local school

getting into the festivities
and the main street is all set up for the festivities and partying. I was really shopping to look for Australiana stuff but lucked out as everything was German (understandable) or Brazillian. I had an early night (10pm) and found out Rowdy, my mate from home won’t be here till Monday.


11th June Sunday. I woke up in the same spot I fell asleep in, best sleep ever. Whist eating my free breakfast a guy Brett came over to join me and after chatting he seemed pretty cool. We had a laugh and I ended up meeting the rest of his mates over breakfast we went off together to explore later in the morning. There is Clackers (Brett), Zedz (Michael), Ketz (David) and Jaz (Jarrod) and they are all mates from back in Adelaide and had me in absolute stitches all day. The boys have already given me my own share of nicknames such as SAILOR (cause I swear like one), WENDEL, MOODY, and M&M hihihi. In town later that night we watched more soccer on the big screen and I was quite disgusted when at half time some girls came out on stage and started pole dancing, what the??? The boys acted like cavemen going ape over them!!! And to make it worse they even did a wet t-shirt comp, what kind of World Cup is this? The real entertainment was when a man with his bongo drum had 3 Japanese guys doing all sorts of stunts with the soccer ball. They were so much fun. Marco Marco!!! Wake up Marco…After the games finished they pumped the tunes and the boys and I went absolutely crazy, and I only had 2 beers but we were all pumped up and the boys love to dance so it was great, (I wont say that they even showed me up…how embarrassing!!! But all fun really) We were the only ones dancing but we didn’t care, a few people joined us but they were no match at all. After they finished playing music at the big screen we headed down the main street and I forced the guys to stay out longer. We came across a beer garden that was completely overrun by Aussies who were having a chanting comp with some Poms which apparently had been going for 2 hours. One of the chants was

Poms: Warney, Warney, where’s your wife Warney?
Aussies: Warney is f$£*ing your wife…

On the way back to Fan Camp I was yelling down the streets all sorts of Aussie songs like the anthem, home among the gumtrees, Waltzing Matilda and I even did a knock and run. I wanted to keep partying but the guys were tired, we went to bed around 1am.


12th June Monday. AUSTRALIA Vs JAPAN
Rowdy and Simon rocked up today and it was good to see some faces from home. They scored tickets on the way from the train but we said we’d catch up later. I got ready for the big day putting on my tattoo’s, ribbons, short green shorts and Clackers even let me borrow his yellow Aussie top so we were all wearing yellow. So we get up to the big screen about 3hrs early, and its right next to the stadium. It meant that we could hang out at the front drinking and have a bit of a dance before it started. I was so overwhelmed, feeling excited, nervous, happy and really pumped up. Before the game the whole place filled with Aussies and about 5 Japanese supporters.

When the screen was turned on we had missed hearing the anthem and I was highly pissed off. By now it’s 3pm and the sun was so hot, I already started to feel dehydrated, so bring on more beers is what I did. The game was a complete nail-biter and so awesome. We were all squashed in and every time I got a new beer I was hoping that the Aussies wouldn’t score so I wouldn’t spill it, but then I thought, who gives a crap about the beer, this is World Cup!!! Half time meant we could breathe again but then second half was even more nerve wracking, and the last 10mins of the game was the best soccer I have ever watched. Scoring 3 times, the crowd erupted and beer was lost everywhere, turning into a full on mosh pit gone crazy. We screamed, hugged, kissed, laughed and screamed and jumped some more. The chanting continued long after the game and I had people picking me up and practically throwing me around. We didn’t even see the third goal as we were to busy still celebrating the 2nd. I cannot begin to explain the emotions going through me as I
And insideAnd insideAnd inside

patriotic town...go Aussies
was there to witness this match, in the same town and a stones throw from the stadium. We all continued moshing like hooligans and it was the best feeling in the world. What was great was that some of the Japanese stayed and partied with us. My thong de-plugged twice in the craziness but I managed to fix it both times, and Zedz lost one of his sunnies lenses! At one point it was so hot they used a hose to wet everyone down and I developed a massive headache from all the jumping around. And for once there was no line up in the girls toilet, the men were coming in to use ours!!!

When the next game was due to start we cleared out of the big screen area and headed for the streets and it was chockers with everyone yelling and waving their flags around. We had some lunch (kinda) and I stuck my feet in a fountain to cool down and later headed to the beer garden from last night and it was completely full of Aussies dancing on the wooden tables and chairs. I was feeling pretty sick with dehydration, headache and pain all over from the sun and jumping around like an idiot. Eventually I toughened up and got into the spirit. They played the anthem about 20 times along with Waltzing Matilda and people were falling of and breaking chairs everywhere. We partied till after the music stopped and the chanting started again. We laughed at how they played “we are the champions” like we had just won the Cup. On the way back to camp were singing along and ran into Rowdy who was also goone. We sat around for a bit at camp but then I went to bed. We partied for about 12 hours, go Australia. Ain’t it great being an Aussie! (Could have told you that before anyway!)


13th June Tuesday After not much sleep I woke up as I was boiling in my tent to find 2 random guys in the tent, even though it’s supposed to be girls only, cheeky buggers. We decided to go to the pools today and eventually got ourselves organised and on the way out of the fan camp I accidentally kicked a concrete flower pot that was at the bottom of a pole. I cursed, but kept walking until
Everyone...meet the boysEveryone...meet the boysEveryone...meet the boys

L to R: Zedz, Jaz, Clackers and Ketz. Copyright Zedz
I felt my foot was all wet. I looked down to see blood all under my foot and all over my thong. It stung like a bitch but we washed and put a band-aid on it, but it was hard to walk for a while and I was still sore from jumping around yesterday. The pools were so awesome, we hung there for ages, and I watched the boys performing on the 10m diving board.

Back at the camp I got to straighten my hair and I felt like a million bucks. Simon gave me my package mum gave him for me and it had tats, bandana, scarf, luggage tag and earrings; go mum, but no letter, photos or flag! I was still happy and thanks mum, you’re the best!!! So the boys, Rowdy, Simon and I all headed up to the big screen to get a few drinks and have a dance. Ketz and I went for a dance and when we came back Rowdy and Simon were gone, I figured they would be coming back so we kept dancing but Rowdy and Simon didn’t come back. The boys and I hit the streets to find somewhere to
MooMooMoo

Copyright Zedz
go but I had the shits with Rowdy as I thought we were going to hang together considering we hadn’t seen each other in 4 months. He obviously wasn’t as happy to see a mate like I was. The boys tried to cheer me up, the sweeties. We didn’t have a really late one, but I went to bed feeling a bit let down. And I have almost lost my voice…


14th June Wednesday Saw Rowdy at breakfast and as I was still feeling shitty with him I confronted him. I told him I was pissed as I thought we were gunna hang out and he could have at least told me he was leaving. He said I shouldn’t have waited and not to ever wait for him and that he was backpacking and having fun and wasn’t going to apologise to me. I was a bit cut up but we all ended up heading to the park again and we had lunch and swum. I played Frisbee with Simon then table tennis and he kicked my butt! On the way back to the camp Clackers got on the rat race and almost went 360° spread eagle but
Night before drinksNight before drinksNight before drinks

Hey, how come mine is empty?
fell out at the end and it was hilarious. (Found out NSW lost the league…bugger) Later at night the streets were jam packed with Germany fans as they were playing Poland. In the park the boys gave me a challenge to see if I could not complain about anything for 10mins!!! After the crowd died down a bit, we went in to join the Germans at the big screen with DJ josh and he pumped the tunes once again. Zedz and I danced on the chair to YMCA and DJ Josh (knowing we are regulars) put on Spiderbait for us. What a legend!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

The boys performingThe boys performing
The boys performing

But will they strip???
The Aussies givin it to the pomsThe Aussies givin it to the poms
The Aussies givin it to the poms

in Fritz-Walter Stammtisch
Mr SparkleMr Sparkle
Mr Sparkle

in the Aussie shop
It's raining kangaroo'sIt's raining kangaroo's
It's raining kangaroo's

before the game festivities
Game dayGame day
Game day

with the stadium behind us
muckin aroundmuckin around
muckin around

check out clackers on the side


Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 22; qc: 91; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb