Where was I?


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Düsseldorf
August 12th 2011
Published: August 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last time I wrote I was getting ready for 10 days of cycling through the borderlands of Germany and Poland. Er, that seems like a lifetime ago. Well, since then I've been there and done that, and from what I can remember, it was enjoyable (when the weather was agreeable). Really. I have a vague recollection of us being somewhere around Berlin. I know I was in Poland because I was paying with zlotys for a couple of days. I know the places I overnighted because I made a point of writing it down. The rest though is all a bit of a blur. I've been racking my brain to understand why and come up with a theory. Here goes...

For the last 18 years I've done these types of bike trips on my own. Suffice to say I'm not used to following and as irritating as I find map reading I kind of missed the getting lost part and all that comes with it, like asking people for directions, not understanding their responses, the occasional thrill of actually understanding their responses, that kind of thing. Yes, following was all a bit easy. But, we were very fortunate to have a fantastic guide and leader in Reinhard (and he was very fortunate to have his posse of followers who generally cooperated and rode along his sometimes strange idea of what constituted a bike path - think forest in Poland (and I mean right in the forest) and riding through fields of farmland. Strenuous at times yes, fun, mostly, boring, never. I do feel sorry though that the boys had to stop so frequently for my needs ie toilet and food. But they did it without grumbling and we still managed to cover about 520km.

Next stop was to visit family in Düsseldorf. Just a flying visit before another flying visit - to Switzerland. I felt like, for the 4 days I was there (in Switzerland), I really packed it in. Not a day was spent being idle. No. Everyday another mountain, another valley, another village. What did I think of it all? It was as picturesque as any postcard. And yes, the cows really do wear bells around their necks, and no, you'll never lose weight eating fondue/homemade bread and cake (!!), mountains are beautiful, and don't even try to understand the local lingo. I can read German, I can hold a conversation in German but Swiss German ... that's a whole different level. I can only understand every second or third word and that only when it's spoken s-l-o-w-l-y. Thanks to being in the company of a local I didn't have to think too much. Phew.

And before you know it, those four days were gone. Another flying visit awaited. From Switzerland to Amsterdam via Düsseldorf by overnight train. I've never slept in a sleeper carriage before. What a curious experience. Firstly, a woman and her two children were settled in in the said compartment, the woman in my bed. She showed me her ticket and sure enough we had the same number. Um, lucky she decided she would sort this out. I was prepared to just sleep in any ol' bunk. As it turned out, she was looking at her return ticket. A whole swapping of bedding fiasco ensued. Thankfully this happened before we started moving.

Sleeping (?) in a bunk with two above me and three opposite all whilst the carriage is shaking and rocking. Er, no easy feat really. I felt like I was in my tent but having the choice of only putting it up on a slope. My head kept on banging on the wall behind me. At least in my tent I can sit up. These sleepers are designed for children I swear. I banged my head on the bunk above me quite a few times. But at least I did get a couple of hours sleep even though it really didn't feel like it, And I got a lovely welcome at Amsterdam Centraal from a former work colleague who came to meet me. It's so nice to be met at the platform and be shown around by someone who knows their way without having to scurry off to tourist information to get a map or to try and decipher the directions in the guidebook.

I also had the good fortune of staying with a lovely friend in his house which overlooked a canal, right in the heart of Amsterdam. "My" room was gorgeous and the windows in the lounge were perfect for some serious people watching. There's always something interesting to look at in Amsterdam. And when I wasn't people watching/catching up with former work colleagues/eating and drinking I was riding a rented bike. Not the most comfortable bike in the world but it did take us out to Marken and back which was around 40km. It was so nice to move again and be out of the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam and out in the country side.

And, now I'm back with family. Just a couple of days of being a couch potato and tomorrow it's that torturous journey back home. Part of me is happy to come home. I can start to eat normally again and lose the weight I've put on. All this eating out (and in!) and not moving, well...it's a no brainer really. It'll be back to yoghurt, soup and fruit. And more bike riding.

Before I finish though a HUGE thank you to my wonderful friends who showed such fantastic hospitality by allowing me to stay with them - you know who you are. Another HUGE thank you to the people I met along the way who kept my spirits bouyant by being just so very kind. A HEARTFELT thanks to those people who sent me messages, comments and emailed me. This too lifted the spirits. It's not always easy being alone and hearing from people made all the difference. And lastly, my most HUMBLE of thanks to all those people who supported my cause and donated so very generously to the Mental Illness Foundation.

Kiitos, aitäh, paldies, ačiū, danke, dank u!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb