Its cold!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Mecklenburg-Vorpommern » Rostock
January 24th 2012
Published: January 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Im not Jesus after all :-( 10 secs
So this blog is dedicated to a fan who contacted me via FB and wanted a update on my situation here in Rostock. I will call this dedicated fan Number1. But let’s keep it friendly I don't have time for stalkers okay?



I woke up today to the coldest temperature I have experienced yet in Rostock or the whole of Mecklenburg Vorpommern! My trusty weather station Wally was showing 2.8 degrees BELOW zero. To some that might not be very cold but to a Aussie who grew up in the Northern Territory it's extreme.



Grabbing the Cannon 60D I took the opportunity to record some of the condition that were present in the back yard. Since being in Rostock I have only seen real snow once so it's a shame there isn't any at the moment while its cold enough to stay on the ground for long enough to get the sledge going!!!



The back pond was frozen over; the water on the pool cover was frozen over and about 7 mm thick. The frost on the ground was crunching underfoot as I made my way across it spans. Feeling adventurous I tried to stand on the pond, alas I think my approach angel was incorrect and the was a rupture in the surface and slight penetration into the freezing cold water below.



Not much else on that subject to add really, it was cold and there was ice.



Just a quick word about a up and coming trip to...... another submarine! Yay! But we are going to have to patiently wait until next week when we will depart Rostock and head to Peenemünde where U-461 which is actually K-24 a soviet Juliet class sub is on display.



If anybody wants me to travel somewhere in Mecklenburg Vorpommern for a report feel free to leave a comment and I will see what I can do :-) Take care.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



24th January 2012

Thanks again
I applaud you for the in-depth way in which you write your blogs and for completing this one for me in such haste. When you touched the ice in the buckets, did you stop to think whether the heat moved from your body to the ice, making you "feel" not the cold of the ice, but the heat leaving your own body? This is worthy of you pondering, however don’t ponder for too long as I have another request. I believe Rostock have their own recipe for Bratwurst called the Rostocker Bratwurst. Is there any chance you could detail the differences in the Bratwursts along with some photos of the Bratwursts, both in tack, and also being eaten (prefer female model) and washed down by a Lubzer Pils from the Holsten Brewery (do they do tours?) ?
27th January 2012

Guten Tag!
I'm a bit of a blog addict, good read so far! I went to a submarine on the north coast...is that near u? Post a pic and I'll tell u if it's the same one. Haha....my german fam were so proud to show me the submarines...

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb