Up in The Air


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
July 28th 2014
Published: July 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Flight


Stuffed in like sardines, just enough space for one to breath! And turn to thy neighbour! This is what it is like on a plane flying economy! Take off was on time. I got a window seat and was quite happy to look out as we took off and landed. For the most part we were flying across the Atlantic Ocean and not much to see.

During the flight from Toronto to Germany, dinner was served (chicken, mashed potatoes and a bun) along with complimentary drinks (I had 2 glasses of white wine then a baileys after dinner to help me sleep) for the duration of the flight. I watched two movies, a couple of sit coms and attempted to sleep on a number of occasions with little success. Probably i was very excited for my landing in Norway! I met a lady on this flight named Bukola Okedara. She is an immigration consultant from Calgary, on her way to Nigeria. She Has been in Canada for 4 years after Going there as a refugee. Now she assists others to do the same.

As I looked out the window for the landing in Germany, I could see the land plots were organized in an interesting pattern. They had power generating wind mills bunched together is areas of tall trees resembling forests.

i knew once i landed, I was going to be racing against the clock as I was told Frankfort was a huge airport and I had almost 2 hours to make my connecting flight.

I got off and walked a bit with Bukola until we had to part ways. I was headed for gate A and she gate C. I followed the signs down long tunnels and up and down escalators. I then found myself on a train crammed in Wondering where I was headed to. Why did I get on this train? Then the man yells out after a 5 minute trip, "gates a and Z move out quickly. Phew, I wasn't headed on the wrong direction. I was then directed by yelling officers to get in line. There I waited to go through customs and security.

At customs, they said not a word to me. I then went through security. This was a little different. Everyone put their stuff on the conveyer belt then passed through the. Metal detector. We were then ushered to a cubical where the same sex officer patted you down from head to toe telling you to lift this foot and this arm and feeling through the hair.

OnCE through that, I found my departing gate and I could breath. I grabbed a complimentary cappuccino and found a quiet spot to call Andy and Gry.

Only 2 more hours I told them...common get up and head to Oslo!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb