Days 45 to 51


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
September 20th 2013
Published: September 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

OktoberfestOktoberfestOktoberfest

in Langenhorner Market, Hamburg
Saturday, September 14 was cool and rainy, as usual these days. Garth and Sue have a very early flight out tomorrow morning so I found them a CHEAP deal on an airport hotel for tonight for only 89 Euros, making their Sunday morning much less stressful. We started to look over train schedules for ourselves to get to Charles de Gaulle airport and even though our flight wasn't until 11AM I decided better safe and un-frenzied so I booked us a room at the Ibis hotel too.

So we cleaned the apartment, did some laundry, replaced supplies we'd used up (bought them a nice potted orchid for a thank you gift) and we headed off by train (9.50 Euros each) to CDG airport. Train was simple and easy, bought our ticket from the machine, only one transfer, airport arrival was easy and signs directed us to the Ibis hotel entrance.

The Ibis is a basic, no frills, good beds, hotel right at the airport. Great place to crash for one night. Small bar (lousy selection of Scotch and no wine by the glass) and for 9.50 Euros a pretty good Continental breakfast buffet. Chris and I walked over to our terminal and checked in, getting our seats, boarding passes and luggage tags, so we were all set for the morning. We met Garth and Sue for a drink and said our goodbyes (they're off for a river cruise for a week while we're in Germany and Switzerland) and got a good night's sleep.

Sunday morning we woke up to a beautiful sunny day and walked over to our terminal, dropped off our bags and caught our flight. Only one transfer in Copenhagen which was interesting to see as we'll be back in that airport in December with our nephew and niece. It was a nice airport with lots of restaurants and shopping and really easy to get around. And everybody spoke English and lots of English signs too so thank GOD we won't have to learn their language too! We're already speaking Spanish to the French and French to the Germans! LOL

Landed at Hamburg under mixed sun and cloud and used the info centre hotel phone to call the Marriott Courtyard Inn for their shuttle. The driver (Hugo?)remembered me from my past stays here and the desk clerks at the hotel gave me a free upgrade to a junior suite because of all my time staying here. Everything at the hotel was the same as I remembered from three years ago but when we went for a walk outside, we found that a few things have changed in the neighbourhood. First of all, the train stations are closed on Sundays for nearly a year for some work. And our nearby grocery store has closed so we have about a 20 minute walk to buy groceries now.

When we got to the nearest shopping area we found that an outdoor early Oktoberfest weekend party was just winding down there. So we joined the party, bought some beers and plates of ham, potato dumplings and sauerkraut (Chris ate my sauerkraut) and had a fun time. Back at the hotel we spent some time in the sauna then relaxed for the evening, catching up on email, etc.

So, we are in Hamburg not so much for tourism, as for medical treatment. I am receiving radiation treatments daily for one week for Dupuytren's Contracture. This is my third trip to Hamburg for this so we aren't doing as much tourist stuff as on past trips so not a lot of interesting photos here. I decided to not write too much about my disease or treatments as for anybody that might want to learn and see more, I do have a blog on a Dupuytren's forum website from my first round of radiation three years ago http://www.dupuytren-online.info/Roger_Hamburg_RT.htm that you can ask me about.

Still here? Okay, here we go:

Monday morning was raining as we walked the 2 km or so to the clinic for my initial consultation and the start of my treatments. We were there off and on throughout the day. Nuff said.

Chris and I walked to the Langenhorner Market near the clinic where we celebrated Oktoberfest last night, and found a great restaurant for lunch with donairs, salads, etc. I ordered a donair (in my perfect German) and received some kind of chick pea patties and rice (which I'm allergic to). Okay, so maybe I need to practise my German a bit more. Chris ordered salad and ..... got salad! Anyway, I ate the chick pea thing and it wasn't all that bad.

So after a day in and out of the clinic, we were off walking back home. Had a nice supper in the hotel (very good restaurant here, the Concorde) and then had after dinner drinks at their bar (Bar Saturn) and the bartender Mustafa remembered me from three years ago. I don't remember spending THAT much time in the bar, so he MUST have a GREAT memory! 😊

Tuesday morning we slept in a bit but made it to the clinic by about 10:30. They sent me straight in for my treatment and we were walking back out of there in less than five minutes. We walked over to the same place for lunch. I pointed to the big donair meat spit thing and asked the guy if that was for donairs. He said yes, I ordered a donair, and .... I got a donair! And it was great! Worth the wait. Chris had their lentil soup and said that was really good too.

Tuesday evening we decided to try the Rotbuche restaurant, just a 5 minute walk from our hotel. I have walked by this place every day here for nearly a total of three weeks now, over the past three years and this is the first time I have ever gone into it. It's a typical Bavarian sort of restaurant and the atmosphere was wonderful in a very old building, very rustic and homey, local pub with home-cooking kind of atmosphere, with a large garden area and outside tables (although not being used now as it's much too cold). They had a large menu and luckily, an English menu for us. I chose their special which was Spare Ribs and Chris has a vegetarian meal of baked Eggplant and salad. Both of our meals were great and we each had a glass of Astra, one of their local beers on tap.

Wednesday morning we snacked on fruit, yogurt, crackers and cheese that we bought at the market on Monday. We only spent 15 Euros, including a bottle of French Merlot, and its lasting us all week! Luckily we have a fridge in our hotel room. If we ate breakfast in the restaurants around here, it would cost about 15 Euros each every day. After my session at the clinic this morning we took the train into downtown Hamburg. An all day group ticket is cheaper than two adults. 10.40 Euros covered both of us on and off the trains anywhere in Hamburg for the day so we decided that was simpler than trying to figure out how many zones we were crossing, etc.

The weather was cool and cloudy but no rain so we enjoyed walking around the harbour, shopping in the huge mall (Europa) where Chris had a manicure for 15 Euros. We found a great little restaurant about 4 blocks from the Mall at Altstädter Straße 17, called Altstädter Stube and I believe the owner's name is Helmut Willig. I had schnitzel and he put together a vegetarian dish for Chris that was not on the menu. Very good food, low prices, warm and friendly service (owner serves, cooks, does everything) in this very tiny rustic and cozy restaurant. We were still stuffed from lunch at supper so we ate in our hotel bar and just ordered soup. I followed that with a small order of wings then we were done for the night.

Thursday we were at the clinic a little longer as I had another consultation with the doctor then paid the bill, etc. so it was noon before we headed out of there. We caught the train near the clinic and for 1.40 Euro each we travelled two stops into the main business area of Fuhlsbuttel. It's a cute little area with a few restaurants and various other shops. We chose Schweinske for lunch and our waitress spoke German, English, Spanish and French so she was able to help us translate the menu. I went with a currywurst (big weiner in curried ketchup and fries). It was "okay", and Chris had a baked potato stuffed with spinach and mushrooms served with an Alfredo type sauce which she liked very much. We walked the 3km or so back to our hotel after that.

We had supper again at the Rotbuche near our hotel. We both had the calamari, which comes coated and deep fried, with salad and fries. It was okay, but I would probably not order it again as they have such a huge menu with I think a lot of dishes they do better than this.

Friday morning; it's off to the clinic for my last appointment until I start again in January, then pack and check out. Catching an evening flight to Basel, Switzerland for one night at the Victoria Hotel near the train station. Saturday we will be taking the train to Zurich then meeting with our old friend Nick. I'll tell you all about it in my next blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Chris at early OktoberfestChris at early Oktoberfest
Chris at early Oktoberfest

in Langenhorner Market, Hamburg


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb