Bankfurt, Heidelberg, the Rhine and Moselle Valleys to Koln


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
May 11th 2007
Published: May 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Part two of my tour: deutschland. I arrived in Bankfurt (otherwise known as Main-hattan), just the other day. I unfortunately had to fly over London Heathrow and endure their stringent security measures at 7 in the morning after a 12 hour flight- not cool. Welcome to London? well no, luckily I was in transit. I had to remove my shoes on three occasions!- well actually two if you don't count me going to the wrong terminal. Prehaps a new foreign policy approach may save people having to remove their shoes? I should have brought my power point. They just aren't thinking about it. I wonder if Tony Blair has to take his shoes off before boarding a plane?

So anyway, what's happening? Well first Frankfurt, why the hell would you go there, people kept asking me. It's dominated my all the major German Banks and really is one of the financial hubs of the world. Well mainly I wanted to visit Germany again, the airport is central and I had a friend living there. Well actually it's not as bad as they say, I had a good time, and it's close to the Rhine Valley where my friend took me on a scooter adventure through the Valley region. First however we had to Autobahn it with cars travelling at 150kph zoooming past us on the little 125cc- and it was so windy. Along the Rhine, we passed around 10 castles (and went inside the most famous- St Goar), and also went through numerous historic riverside towns and crossed the river twice.

The next day I went to Heidelberg, which is dominated by a castle and escaped WW2 bombings as the Americans decided it would make a nice place for them in the post-war era. So with it come many American tourists- who are friendly enough but pretty annoying. Meanwhile, I was about the only backpacker in town and don't always get looked upon with the greatest enthusiasm. Following that little excursion I went back down the Rhine and into the Moselle Valley to the pretty amazing town called Cochem. But when I got off the bus, it was a 'here we go again' situation as I counted 15 tour buses lined up and blocking the river view!! I was planning to stay here but after my half hour walk with my very heavy backpack, I found that I
FrankfurtFrankfurtFrankfurt

contrasting buidings
was shit of out of luck for accommodation- and I wasn't paying package tour hotel fees. So I decided I'd take a few quick snaps of the place, pretend that I'd been there properly and take the train back down the river (well along it) to the town of Koblenz.
From there it was another half hours' walk up an even bigger hill to a castle, which had a backpackers inside!! cool cool. It was spectacular actually and had a great view- well worth the walk. I had a bit of a look around the next day, did a bit of a Rhine river cruise before jumping on a train and going down stream to the city of Cologne. I'd been here before but it was time to visit again. So that's where I am now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

View from St-GoarView from St-Goar
View from St-Goar

Rhine Valley
KoblenzKoblenz
Koblenz

viewed from hostel
KoblenzKoblenz
Koblenz

youth hostel up there somewhere
out in Kolnout in Koln
out in Koln

Chris, whom I'd met back on Java


15th May 2007

It all remind me so much of my Youth...
I was 15 or so and my German penpal had decided to take me to cycle down the Moselle for a week or so (not so much the same adventure as you cycling in Algeria - still intense). we did some 80 to 100km per day and I pretty much remember arriving dead tiered in Koblenz after a long day on the bike. Then my penpal showed my the top of the ill... "yeah yeah beautiful...whatever let me die" - not so she was showing me the youth hostel at the top of the hill - that was the end of our friendship!
15th May 2007

Hey Kees, wow Germany, cool man, very different to your Asian adventure! I hope your feet weren't too smelly for those poor security men!!
17th May 2007

Emu Farming
Sounds like you needed to have a little cry by the time you got to Koblenz. Did your hostel-mates have some tissues for you?
18th May 2007

Koblenz
clearly a few tears; cheers for the sympaty

Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 22; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb