new teacher and heteronormativity


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 31st 2006
Published: July 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just also want to add before I forget: we got a new teacher today and I'm not sure what I think. She's very nice, but our theme for the day was basically gender difference and heterosexual relationships. We had to do this exercise were we read about and debated differences between men and women, which did have the effect of producing heated discussions. But then the rest of the day involved reading personal ads written by men and women, all heterosexual, and trying to pair people up. It's all for the purpose of learning reflexive verbs that have to do with relationships and increasingly sophisticated language for describing oneself and others, but I found it really kind of annoying. Why so heteronormative? Also, she made us divide up into groups of men and women, which I find a little insensitive, given that she doesn't know if everyone necessarily fits easily into one gender category and I just think it's a little ignorant of her, although I'm sure she didn't intend anything bad by it, I think it's just probably something she never even thought of. I think I'm being a little overcritical, but these things push my buttons.

Advertisement



1st August 2006

Great Pics and Posts
Hi Syd, I just read all of your posts since I last visited. Unfortunately my alert is not working - I set-up an alert to let me know when you posted something. Of course then I forgot. Duh... What great writing! I can really picture the Jewish memorials. I remember going to the DC Holocaust Musuem. We got a tour from a Polish women who was 16 and escaped from a camp. She cried when she talked about some of the events. I was exhausted after the tour. It was great to finally see a picture of you!! Of course I love the other pictures but not as much as I loved seeing you! Hang in there with the heat - both from the weather and from well-meaning but ignorant teachers. I imagine you will find the words which will enrich your classmates. Much love, hugs, and safe travels my dearest! BJ

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb