Marching On Berlin (Day 62)


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 13th 2010
Published: July 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

wombatswombatswombats

wombats hostel
Really not anything too exciting to write about today. I spent about 7 hours on a train going from Copenhagen to Berlin. That's the only problem with going to Denmark, especially Copenhagen, it is just sooo far out of the way. Still worth it though. Oh, I did enjoy how on my train from Copenhagen to Hamburg they loaded our entire train onto a ferry which took us across the Baltic Sea to a port in northern Germany. Just kind of came out of nowhere. I was reading my book when the conductor instructs everyone on board to exit the train for the next half hour. Caught me and some others off guard. Got to Berlin just in time for the World Cup final. Had my Sneijder jersey on and was ready to cheer on my new club. Watched the game in the hostel bar on the rooftop terrace (this hostel is amazing by the way) with a group of Brits and Aussies. Always a good decision when watching a football match. Slightly disappointed Holland lost but much more disappointing that the WC is over. Was an awesome backdrop for my trip here. Everyone was into it, even the Americans traveling
viewviewview

view from the rooftop bar
abroad for the summer. Ended up just hanging out and having a few beers at a place nearby with the same crew. Tomorrow will be my big day of touring as I am doing the massive popular free New Berlin walking tour. By the way I am staying in East Berlin and the Soviet Bloc architecture is some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. This place is a real gem ha. Guten nacht.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

platzplatz
platz

alexanderplatz


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb