We Are All Berliners Now 3-19-2009


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
March 20th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Berlin 1Berlin 1Berlin 1

Brandenburg Gate At Night
Day 8 - Thursday in Berlin

Goodbye to Amsterdam and Hello Berlin. We left on time at 8 am. Yes, after a last fun night, we were all up and ready for our 10 plus hours on the bus. The ride, long and broken up by three stops. Dr. Meyer and Luggi had sausages and potatoes as usual. And no "peeing on the bus". Drinking on the bus, not like the road trips in the past, but enjoyable. I slept most of the time. Do we have stories to share, yes but not in writing.

The group rolled in at 6 pm on Thursday night. Yes, we have been getting in on time. Go figure that. The ride was long and most of us got some sleep. So what do you do on a 10 hour bus ride beside sleep? Drink of course, but not me. Drinking on the bus is not appealing to me. I can barely drink soda in my van.

I have a longstory short about drinking. The story goes: I joined the service at 17 in 1978 and never had a drop of alcoholic. So after basic training, the first night or two in
Berlin 2Berlin 2Berlin 2

Dr. Meyer and his twin brother, David Meyer
Rantoul, Il, we go out. Everyone is drinking and they try to get me drunk. And yes I did, got sick and was sick for two days. I vowed to myself that I would never do that again. I can proudly say that after 31 years, I've kept my promise. So not to digress too much....back to the day in Berlin.

Back to Thursday. Traveling for a week now and my luggage has gotten bigger. It's cold today, 45 degrees and sunny. After we arrived, quick change and we had a group dinner at the hotel. Sorry to say no live entertainment, just a few stories to share. LaVon did her world and apple soapbox speech which was very interesting. Talk to her, she is a good source of information.

After dinner, do we call it a night at 9 pm or walk the city? Walk the city of course. Debbie Noe walked us to the Brandenburg Gate. Very beautiful at night. Thanks Debbie Noe for the guided tour. The lights and coldness of the night was quite a sight. We walked by the Russian, British and USA embassy. Then saw the Hotel Aldon, the hotel where Michael
Berlin 3Berlin 3Berlin 3

Berlin At Night
Jackson dangled his baby out of.

Off to bed at midnight. We have a long day with a guided tour on Friday. Hope all is well with everyone.

LongStory Short,
Ann



Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb