Berlin


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 31st 2008
Saved: June 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Had the time of my life during my stay in Berlin. And also my first food poisoning, which I endured by sleeping around 32 hours or more. The first day I went directly to Berlin was the day when Barack Obama was supposed to hold his speech at the Siegessäule, so with a few friends I got lost under other thousands of people and witnessed his speech, which I found rather unimaginative and less charismatic compared to the ones I saw on the internet.

However the following days I was lead around in Berlin by a friend, who was very athletic and forced me to ride bicycle, which I would probably never do on my own. It's very handy to have a bicycle in Berlin, since the public transport is quite expensive, and on Berliner streets bicycles have same rights as cars. After a few times almost shitting myself in the traffic I got used to it, and I enjoyed it a lot afterwards. Berlin by night is so magic (and the streets empty), it's pure joy to fly through the streets on a bike.

Mauer Park by night is a must, various people just jam with many different music instruments and amplifiers in the middle of the park, others perform fire acts or play drums and dance.

Berliner Zoo isn't as interesting as the one in Leipzig and it lacks variety when it comes to decoration, but the aquarium is vast and breathtaking. It has at least 5 different jelly fish aquariums and huge mixed aquariums. If you lean against the glass, it appears that you're amidst the fish in another world full of colours.

Thanks to Dani and Tobi.




Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 23


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

hollow churchhollow church
hollow church

ausgebombt
SiegessäuleSiegessäule
Siegessäule

and the stage for Mr.-possible-next-president-of-the-USA
Berlin by nightBerlin by night
Berlin by night

the street of the New Synagogue
FernsehturmFernsehturm
Fernsehturm

Tv tower
CharlottenburgCharlottenburg
Charlottenburg

The park was quite nice, but I didn't like the area, too posh and lacks character


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 93; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb