Snowy Day


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Regensburg
December 15th 2010
Published: December 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It has been snowing gently all day today. Finally I get to use the gortex hiking boots, merino thermals, polar fleece parka and gortex jacket that we were obliged to equip ourselves with before bushwalking in Tasmania. On that occasion we actually wore short-sleeved T-shirts and took off our boots and paddled in the sea most of the time along the Bay of Fires! Today, however, I was glad of them all simultaneously.

After class I set off on a different route, clomping carefully through the snow and ice, through the old town to the shopping mall near the station where the shops are said to be cheaper. Mostly I bought stationery to try and organise my studying. I also tried to buy some kiwi fruit from Italy in a huge food barn. But it appeared that I had to weigh and price them myself and it all seemed to difficult so I ended up putting them back. I can't address too many challenges at once.

I am starting to tune in to the class activities more successfully. The class has been together for quite a few weeks and have almost completed the textbook they are using. So I have been struggling to familiarise myself with the vocabulary they are using. There is a strong emphasis on grammatical accuracy so there is lots of written homework. I have literally been falling asleep trying to finish it all as well as catch up. Today I decided that rather than sit in my room alone I went to a nice cosy cafe and had a coffee and sat comfortably with my books spread all over the table. So now today's is done.

I was intending to go to the Opera in Cologne tonight to hear a friend and rising young star singing the role of Belmonte in the "Abduction from the Seraglio" but he notified me that he had been obliged to change to last night on account of illnesses and accidents amongst the cast. So I shall go next week instead. Just as well really, as I would have had to sleep in a hotel at the station there until 3am then get on the train at 3.20am in order to get back to Regensburg for my class tomorrow morning. I am determined to do this course conscientiously but at the same time, I HAD to go and hear Brad, as I have been following his career for several years with great interest and admiration. He was at dinner at my place in September.

The joys of life in Europe for an Australian on holidays armed with a Eurail pass!

Advertisement



16th December 2010

A busy girl
How much you are cramming into you "holiday"! .Still, the benefits will outweigh the lack of sleep etc. I found german grammar imposible but easier to understand than French when we were travelling around Europe.We are having a hail storm here--the temp was ~27C earlier today. I think I had my final b'day dinner last night with my special dietitian friends, so my B'day lasted from16/10 to 15/11with several celebratiions between

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb