Day 3c - Oberammergau


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Oberammergau
December 13th 2006
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oberammergau ShopOberammergau ShopOberammergau Shop

One of many beautifully painted shops
It's hard to believe that it is only a little after 2:00 and I have seen so much. I'm making the 20 minute bus ride to Oberammergau, but quite frankly when we passed through here this morning, didn't seem like much to me. But, having seen two of the 4 sites that were on my list, Oberammergau and Wies Church are the next in priority. Oberammergau's claim to fame is the Passion Play, held each 10 years and performed by citizens of the community. In addition, wood carvings and frescos on buildings are a special trade of this region.

The driver asked if I wanted off at the bahnhof (trainstation) or town. I told him wherever the shops were. I figured I could at least stroll through the shops and have some lunch to pass the time if needed. Within a couple of minutes, I getting off the bus, look up and am in total amazement of what I am seeing. This is the storybook Germany, the one that you always hear about. Snow lined Alps set behind this town of half-timbered, red-tile roofed buildings, with frescos so vivdly painted the images appear alive. Christmas lights are everywhere and I felt that I was walking in a painting.

After strolling around town, ducking in and out of shops, I head into a cafe for a bite to eat - the blueberry crepes had worn off. I had some kind of sausage, potato salad and a glass of Riesling, topped off with a piece of Hazelnut cake and cup of coffee. Now that I have my strength back, I head back out and find a wood carving shop that has nothing but wood-carved items for sale. Carvings of nativity scenes in walnut shells, to massive wall coverings of the Last Supper that are probably 3' x 5' in size. Prices are not cheap - these people know that tourists will pay for their skill and charge appropriately.

I visit the Kathy Wohlfart Christmas Store - there are actually 2 in town. This is floor to ceiling, anything you want with a Christmas theme kind of shop. I think I spent close to an hour in the larger store just looking at everything. After deciding that by the time I ship anything home, it will be well January and maybe I really didn't want to totally redo my tree next year (Jeff, you would be proud of the restraint I had), I ended up with no purchases from Ms. Wohlfart's store. Oberammergau is quaint, but this is not one of those areas that I would probably venture to see again. The element of surprise would be gone, and I think I would be disappointed. The day had turned from sunny to overcast, and with the last of the daylight around, I began to head toward the direction of town where the bus stop awaited.

The Passion Play House is on my way to the bus stop. The last tour is already over, but it is a fairly new building - not the Vienna Opera house, so I'm not disappointed. I've had a good day - seen alot. So, I continue to walk and find the stop. Still over an hour to wait, and the temperature is dropping quick, I spot a cafe, have hot tea this time, and write a while in my journal until time for my bus.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The Christmas StoreThe Christmas Store
The Christmas Store

Kathy Wohlfart's Christmas Store has locations throughout Germany - check out the mountains in the background.
Definitely Storybook StuffDefinitely Storybook Stuff
Definitely Storybook Stuff

I stopped and looked at this building I know for a good 5 minutes. The woodwork and artwork seemed to blend so well together - it was amazing to see.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb