Youth Hostel Part II (Dachau and Munich)


Advertisement
Published: July 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Mexican/Native American Band 11 secs
On Wednesday, we went for the day to Dachau and Munich. Dachau was one of the lonliest, most terrible places on earth. I understand how important it is that we learn about the rise of the Nazis and such, but it is sometimes hard to subject yourself to something like that. I've been to the Holocaust museum in DC before, which is much more brutal/graphic, by the way, but it could hardly convey the sadness of actually standing in a place where so many people had died after being turned into figurative work horses. No one talked pretty much the entire time. Some jerkoffs (not with us, obviously) were playing cards there. It's just a place where respect is needed, and that made me mad that someone could be so cold. I really wish we had stayed there the entire day, because there was so much that we didn't get to see. It was nice, though, that we got to split into groups and go where we wanted to, because it meant we got to do exactly what we wanted and at the pace that we wanted. Also, a very nice bus driver took us there even though we had missed the right bus and told us exactly how to get in. I hope that something good happened to him that day, because it was incredibly selfless.

Later, we went to Munich (Muenchen) for the afternoon, just to shop and be tourists. We managed to see the famous Glockenspiel, which turned out to be one of the most boring things I've ever seen. Everyone stood there watching the metal figures spin around, saying, "Is something else going to happen, or is this it?" Lame. The rest of the city was pretty cool, though. I bought a couple of gifts and a poker set. We then went to the Hofbrauhaus to get dinner and a beer. What we didn't know was that to get a beer there, you had to be 18. Don't ask me; I don't know why. But anyway, that meant that only the Laders and I could drink, so I forewent my beer so I could drink one with the younger members later. We went instead to get beer at a crappy fancy restaraunt with not so fresh (and also expensive) beer. I should have just thought about myself and drank the good local stuff when I had the chance. I also found a soft drink called Mirinda, but I can't be sure it is related to the bananna soda from Honduras. It was good, at any rate. We also saw a band of what looked like native americans playing music in the street. They were exceptional and the one guy played some kind of hand made reed pipe. It was really great. All in all, it was a really good day, though exhausting.


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb