Munich/Salzburg Day 3


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
January 20th 2014
Published: January 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I leave Munich to travel to Salzburg via rail. This isn't until 4 in the afternoon so I basically have a full day to see Munich again. Most importantly my family arrive into Munich today and boy am I excited to see them!

I woke up at 5am again. I don't know why I keep doing this but I'll go with it. Did the usual breakfast at the hostel with my morning coffee, went back up to my room and wrote the blog for the day before. Because it's so early I can't really go anywhere because nothing is open and the sun doesn't rise until about 8am every morning!

It's a good time to keep in touch with people back home because it's late in the afternoon so people should be awake. Plus it's a good opportunity to map out my day. I felt much more confident walking the city today as yesterday gave me my bearings so I actually knew where I was going! It's actually really easy to get around in Munich the metro systems take you anywhere. I decide to walk though, you get to see more. I wanted to visit Maximilianeum which is a huge building situated on a river bank. It was built as the home of a gifted students' foundation and has also housed the Bavarian Landtag (state parliament) since 1949. It's pretty impressive! I was told to visit the Englischer Garten but unfortunately I didn't make it that far. It was quite a journey but I had to make it back to the Hauptbahnhof to catch a train to Munchen Ostbahnhof. Which is where the train to Salzburg stops and where my parents were getting off.

Soon there they were, tired, delirious and cold but it was good to see them. The reason they all over here is my sister Olivia has a figure skating competition in Salzburg and she is with the Australian team representing. So that should be a bit of fun. I've heard the Croatian team are all quite very attractive 😉 I think I'll be going for them.

We caught the train to Salzburg which only takes about and hour and half which is pretty good. Once we arrived no one really knew where to go so someone from the team asked a few locals but we still got lost. It was cold, dark and raining and there were 28 of us dragging our suitcases through Salzburg trying to find the hotel that I was beginning to think didn't exist. Eventually we found by asking another hotel we passed on the way. I looked on google maps when I got wi-fi and we definitely went the long because it's about a 2 minute walk from the Salzburg Hauptbahnhof where we got off. In a straight line too... I guess that's what happens when women are in charge of maps. Hey it's true! :p

Pretty exhausting day I have to admit! Sad to leave Munich behind but I shall return some day for sure. Now to discover Salzburg. I've heard it's a very beautiful city. Where Mozart was born did you know, and the home of Sound of Music (if you're into that kind of thing)

Mach's gut!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.071s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb