Photos from the Munich Zoo


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
November 7th 2010
Published: November 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This blog is going to be more about pictures than words, because it's about the zoo!

After sleeping a lot last night we took the U-Bahn south to the Thalkirchen stop, where the Tierpark Hellabrunn (the Munich zoo) is. I really liked the U-Bahn station at Thalkirchen, which was decorated with sketches of different animals, making it clear that this was the stop for the zoo. The zoo isn’t far from my home at all, only about 12 minutes or so with the U-Bahn I think. To get to the zoo from the station we had to walk across a bridge over the Isar River, which is the river that runs through Munich.

The zoo in Munich is pretty unique. It was the first zoo to group the animals by their habitat geographically. We were there for three hours and saw a lot of the animals (still not all of them) and took lots of pictures. Another cool thing about this zoo is it doesn’t have very many cages, but a lot of more natural outside enclosures. It was really easy to get close up to the animals and a lot of them were out and about. The zoo also houses an aquarium in one of the buildings so we went through that too. The weather was a little overcast some of the day, but other than it was great and at least it didn’t rain until I got back home!

Feel free to comment on my pictures in any of my blogs, I'm trying to get better at photography so any feedback is appreciated.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

FlamingoFlamingo
Flamingo

I thought this one was funny
GorillaGorilla
Gorilla

protecting her baby
Orangutan babiesOrangutan babies
Orangutan babies

reminds me of me and my brother :P
Cool hornsCool horns
Cool horns

I'm not sure of the name of this type of goat but he has really cool horns


22nd May 2011

blog
I came across your blog and been reading about your travels in Germany. Great reading and pics. Enjoy your time...
22nd May 2011

blog
I came across your blog and been reading about your travels in Germany. Great reading and pics. Enjoy your time...
22nd May 2011

blog
I came across your blog and been reading about your travels in Germany. Great reading and pics. Enjoy your time...
22nd May 2011

blog
I came across your blog and been reading about your travels in Germany. Great reading and pics. Enjoy your time...
22nd May 2011

blog
I came across your blog and been reading about your travels in Germany. Great reading and pics. Enjoy your time...
22nd May 2011

blog
I came across your blog and been reading about your travels in Germany. Great reading and pics. Enjoy your time...
22nd May 2011

blog
I came across your blog and been reading about your travels in Germany. Great reading and pics. Enjoy your time...

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb