I'm Here!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Ingolstadt
April 15th 2012
Published: April 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends. I am in Germany! Everything is settling in now, but oh boy did it start interestingly. I arrived two weeks ago today with no clothes, shoes, or sheets, pillows for my bed. My bag got lost in Canada, i suppose. Luckily, NOTHING is open in Germany on Sundays. ha. But seriously, only bars and restaurants are open. Anyhow, I arrived here, recieved my keys, and "moved" into my room. My view is beautiful. A catherdral from around the 1400s is right outside--however they ring the bells so much! The first night, my room was so cold without blankets that I pulled my mattress into my bathroom, next to the heater, to try to sleep. I did get to eat that day, though, don't worry. I had all my legal documents and money in my lovely pink backpack, so I was pretty safe. Just no new clothes until Wednesday! Oh well.

Monday morning I showed up in front of Uni of Eichstaett-Ingolstadt and began my trips to Eichstaett for my German language course. I tested into B1 (intermediate) and since then my German is tenfold better. I have to use it everywhere..so that's what happens I guess. I went to class until Thursday then Easter weekend began 😊 Easter is unbelievably HUGE in Bayern (Bavaria) so nothing, NOTHING, is open fri,sat,sun,mon. It's ridiculous. But the Easter things, eggs, handmade crafts, CHOCOLATE, etc are very beautiful. That weekend (Saturday) all the internationals went to Munich..so I joined. Munich is ridiculously huge and old. All the buildings are like 800 years old, so like older than the country I live in haha. I saw lots of cool things there, but only had a few hours. I will return asap. I have some friends that live-live there, so I'll go back. (It's very close-45 mins with direct transit).

OK so the BIER/ALKOHOL. 😊)) I have been drunk probably 50% of the time I have been here. haha (Sorry Pops) They have helles, dunkles, and weizen beer...light, dark, and wheat as well as all these crazy other combinations..limonade with beer, wine with carbonated water. it's ridiculous. It's going to take me the whole four months just to try everything. Also, YES i have already made my mark. I think like 3rd night here I recieved the name Engel/angel, because at like 4 am i fell asleep sitting at this one bar, Hemingway. i woke up to a German guy yelling ENGEL ENGEL! haha i was so confused..ahh but i have great friends already so no worries. They already know my favorite song 😉 and pull out the chair for me to stand on whenever it is turned on. ahhaha god i have problems.

Speaking of friends. They are from everywhere. LITERALLY. It's so amazing to hear stories about chile, russia, finland, poland, spain, france, ireland, slovakia, romania. I am in the heart of europe, and so many kinds of people gather here. I picked a perfect place, literally. Next weekend Michelle comes and we have at least one/two trips planned. 😊 I hope she loves D-land!

Bis spaeter. -Yuli

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb