Cruising on the Konigsee


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Berchtesgaden
November 2nd 2010
Published: November 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

It’s early, Bea and I walked to the baker. She had heard about it and wanted to chat with the lady behind the counter. I think she just wanted to check out all the great pastries. I was right; I reminded her we were on a mission. We needed butter, rolls and eggs. Especially the eggs, whenever we travel to Europe we always get a boiled egg for breakfast. I don’t know why it’s special but it is.

The fog seems to be getting thicker as we approached the secret path…. Woooo, Bea wasn’t that impressed until this nice looking German man came through and she had to squeeze by.

We get to the bakery and we walk in and the lady looks at me then looks at Bea, her right eye brow pops up and she looks at me like who is this woman and where is your wife? Bea and I look at all the pastries and then Bea starts the secret hand shake and discussion and I’m pointing to what I want and Bea is saying Ya Ya Ya. I ask for eggs she looks at me like I’m not in the secret society and then I remember GA GA(german slang for egg). Her head snaps back toward me and she smiles and says Nein, Nein, something, something.

Bea steps in and says the farmer doesn’t come today. What!! I want my egg, Bea and the lady behind the counter both look at me and say tell someone that cares. They both laugh and continue spreckening the Deutsch to each other.

We make it back to the house and everyone is waiting on us. The table is set so Bea and I grab us a seat and pass the rolls and dig in. No one missed the eggs, no one.

About half way though breakfast Swen and Eva arrive and they quickly join in with breakfast. While we’re eating Swen and Hedy are planning our day.

We finish breakfast and we all pile into the cars and head toward the lake. Ok, Lake Konigsee is a big lake, not as big as Lake Okeechobee, but none the less a big lake. It’s feed from the melting glaciers that surround it and it’s beautiful, clean and COLD!

We get there, Kirsten parks the car and we all start heading toward the little shopping area next to the lake. Bea, Kirsten, Eva and Hedy begin checking out the gift shops. Bill, Swen and I are stand there people watching. Swen then decided to go and get the boat tickets. Hedy shoots out of the shop and goes with him, like they are on some mission.

We finally get to where the line starts to get tickets and Hedy and Swen arrive with the tickets. They explain we are going to the furthest end of the lake and then we’re going to hike to the water fall. It’s an easy hike and should only take 30 minutes. Bill rolls his eyes and says I’m not walking any #@%& 30 minutes. Kirsten says, it’s ok Daddy, there’s a beer garden and you can wait for us there. LOL

As the boat cruised across the lake our guide pointed out all scenic points of interest. One point was special, the boat comes to a stop and the guide whips out his bugle and plays a few notes. What was neat was the echo off the mountains of him playing. Of course he takes a bow. He then quickly whips out his hat and goes up and down the isle getting donations. Hmmmm.

We made it across the lake and as we are pulling into the dock, I’m looking at the beer garden and thinking ……man, my leg is hurting, Kirsten looks at me and says don’t even think about it. What! I know what you’re thinking and the answer is NO!

Bill grabs a seat and the rest of us head up the path. It was a nice walk but about half way there, the path narrows, we start following each other in a single file. The trail was up and down and narrow at points. The path takes us around the back side of Lake Konigsee, to the Obersee. It reminds me of the Cinque Terra only smaller.

As were walking, Hedy and Swen keep talking about getting this great refreshing drink at the end of the path. Of course they speaking in German, every so often an English word come out. I thinking my hearing aids aren’t working, then someone asks me something and I’m totally confused. So I lag behind, bringing up the rear.

As we’re getting closer to this little cabin with lots of people crowded around getting one of those delicious drinks, I ask so what is the drink. Hedy, turns and says, why of course it’s BUTTERMILK.

WHAT! I came to an immediate stop, Kirsten runs into the rear of me and Bea into Kirsten. I’m not walking any further if all there is to drink is BUTTERMILK. Kirsten, after regaining herself assures me there will be other beverages.

All I’m thinking is I didn’t get my egg at breakfast and now all their going to have to drink is this #%&# BUTTERMILK.

We arrive at the cabin, and yes Kirsten was correct they had other cool beverages in addition to the BUTTERMILK.

While ordering the young lady ask me in her broken English “Vould uses like sum UtterMilk”. I smile and say Ein Beer Bitte. She smiles at me and laughs “Crazy American”.

As I sit here drinking my cool refreshing beer I’m watching everyone drinking their cool refreshing BUTTERMILK. Hedy leans over and ask would you like a taste. Nope I’m just fine, when does the boat come to pick us up? Kirsten rolls her eyes and says we have to walk back.

Great, well at least there’s a beer garden where Bill is. I’m thinking he’s sitting there just smiling and enjoying his beverage of choice.

Yeah…. who’s smarter, the Tortoise or the Hare.

After a nice break we all hike it back, the way we came. It was a nice walk, very scenic as we rounded the lake.

We found Bill just where we left him smiling and soaking in the sun. He ask how was your walk, I said it was enjoyable. We both laugh.

Everyone took a bathroom break and we were back on the boat heading to the other side of the lake where the famous St Bartholomew cathedral is located. We arrive and walk around looking at the gift shops and the cathedral. We then sit down for a nice cake and coffee. The sky was clear and the sun was warming us and we all sat there enjoying the people walking around.

After about an hour Swen and Eva say their goodbyes and head toward the boat. They had a very long drive ahead of them and wanted to get an early start. We stayed and walked around sightseeing for another hour and got back on the boat and headed to our car.

We arrived back at the house and we just laid around napping and reading. We snacked on left over’s for dinner. After dinner we played cards for an hour or so and then we all headed to bed. We had planned a busy day for tomorrow and we were going to get an early start.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



2nd November 2010

Nice!
Sounds like my kind of trip! A little hikeing, a little beer, and a great view!!!
2nd November 2010

thank you
These pictures are absolutely beautiful Stevie :)

Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb