4 Hours in Stuttgart


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Stuttgart
October 5th 2011
Published: October 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Stuttgart is the home of Porsche. On my way back to London, I dropped in on Stuttgart to see the Porsche Museum and then went for a walk in old town. It is a very charming place. You can see why Germany is leading the pack economy wise in Europe.
I bought my first Porsche in high school, at age 16. It was a 914. I bought my first 911 Targa at age 19, and have missed it ever since. I bought it for my 19th birthday. I have owned about 5 different Porsches along the way.

My sisters had thrown a surprise birthday party for me but I didn’t know. So I was out buying myself a Targa for my birthday present and almost missed my birthday party. But I made it home around midnight, and I parked my birthday present on the front lawn. My first 911 was aubergine in color, the second was teal green.

I can’t get myself to buy one now as an adult. They sort of say, “look at me” which you can get away with in your twenties, but as your become more conscious of your entire financial picture, it starts to make sense to invest in things that appreciate over time rather than depreciate. But I can still look can’t I?

If you are going to buy a European Sports car, I would highly recommend a Porsche. Arguably, the Ferraris look better, but they are always in the garage. In the 5 years that I drove Porsches every day, all I ever spent money on was oil changes, tune ups, and tires. They just never seem to break.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



10th October 2011

Indeed! Stuttgart is a lovely German Town
Lovely photos! I have lived in Stuttgart, I do miss it!
8th November 2011

porsche?
I seem to remember a red one (the rear) and a green one (the front). Oh yeah! we never did buy that 911

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb