1st Day in Limalonges


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
January 26th 2011
Published: January 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So my first full day in Limalonges is over, and wow, what a day!! I awoke early, despite having only about 4 hours sleep, and after a cup of tea went out with Mike to feed the alpacas. this involved driving around the farm on a quad bike dishing out bowls of beet and changing their water. The alpacas were all very inquisitive with a new person feeding them, but are very tame and non-agressive - apart from Christine, who decided to spit a mouthful of beet in my face!!! Bless her!

Anyway, after doing the rounds, and then feeding the goats, and the chickens, it was time for a spot of breakfast. this consisted of extremely fresh eggs straight out of the hen house, and beans. Nice.

After breakfast back to work. And the first task that my very kind hosts had for me was to muck out the alpaca stables - of which there are four. Most of them sleep outside, but there are 3 pregnant that need to be inside in case they give birth in the night, and little Toby who is recovering from a serious attack from a wild dog, and is still being bottle fed and nursed back to health. So, for 3 hours I was shovelling poo and straw out of the stables, into a trailer on the quad bike, then driving it across the farm to a large container. that was hard work i can tell you.

Whilst the alpacas are very tame, they are also quite nervous. But Sherry wasnt shy - she even gave me a kiss!!

After that it was time for a rest , and to unpack all my belongings, and get myself onto the wifi. So with all that done, it was time for dinner and a few glasses of wine. And so to bed, knackered.!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



26th January 2011

Hi Mark, Glad to hear you're there safe and sound, and already getting straight on with business. Really pleased you are doing this for yourself mate, most inspiring I must say. Will fire you off an email this weekend, sorry it will have taken so I've been hectic at work but that is no excuse. So good luck with it all, I expect grandiose tales upon our next encounter which I hope will be soon, maybe a visit to France is in order. Take care Rich
31st January 2011
christine spitting at me

Ahahahha
This makes me laugh ahahha

Tot: 0.466s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb