France In 3 Weeks


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
September 15th 2010
Published: September 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
I haven’t written for 3 weeks I just haven’t felt like so I’m just going to give some of my favorite highlights in France.

I finally bit the bullet and hired a car, with a lot of help from Pascal and a little driving experience from Angelique off I hop; I can’t tell you how sick I am feeling behind the wheel of the car it is a continuous battle with myself over which side of the road I was meant to be on. Every now and then when there is no other cars around I would jump into complete panic thinking I may have strayed on to the wrong side of the road, my heart is in my mouth the whole time and all I want to do is stop; but I can’t if I want to explore this country, so off I go. The roundabouts are the best; what a confusing situation I am in at the moment. I can tell you I have made a few errors on the road luckily most of them have been in quite little country towns, that is until I got to Bordeaux it is a large town and I came to
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
an intersection a lot like Flinders street stations intersection. They had road works going on and I wanted to turn right so I had a green light and I crossed the intersection and found myself facing four lanes of cars coming the other way, OH MY GOD, I threw it into reverse so dam quickly and got out of there, you should have seen the people’s faces looking at me, I bet they were thinking dam foreigner they must have thought I was crazy. And the freakiest thing that happens when your driving is when someone coming the other way over takes a vehicle and your head to head with two cars coming at you whilst the whole time I’m thinking what side of the road am I suppose to be on until a few second later relief the oncoming vehicle pulls in.

My first stop was Carnae I had looked up Megalithic sites in France and Carnea had the largest stone formations in the country, they went on for kilometers so I had a full day here. The stone formations were lined up in rows, there didn’t seem to be any particular rhyme or reason to the order,
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones. The day was really gloomy when I arrived.
I would be really interested in seeing what the pattern actually looks like from the air. I couldn’t work out if there were any entrances or sites of rituals or trade as the area was fenced off, so I couldn’t walk around the formations freely.

Carnae was a very pretty town and I found myself in several crystal shops, I didn’t find anything for myself except a very beautiful crystal ball that someone had asked me to keep an eye out for (Suzanne) at two thousand Euros I was sure that Suzanne was not interested, what a shame that some people really over price crystals. I made a very prompt exit finding myself in the city square where I sat and enjoyed my lunch.
Ok the few weeks I drove to Nantes, Bordeaux, Perigueax, Bride La-Guillarde, Gouffre de padirac, Rodez, Mallau Montpellier, Nime, Valence then to Switzerland. I spent quite some time in the Provence of Perigold what a really lovely country side this area has, I went to Mussiaan, Bergerac, Pergueux, Limeuil, Terrasson, St Emilloin that’s just to mention a few I could go on and on I had a very adventurous time exploring this magnificent country.
I
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
went to a few crystal caves the Grotte Du Grand Roc and my favorite the Gouffre de proumeyssac translated to the cathedral of crystals. I was lowered down a fifty meter shaft in a gondola, it would have to be one of the most overwhelming experience I have had the pleasure of witnessing; your mind can not fathom what you’re eyes are seeing, a sheer breath taking experience. I started to cry it was so beautiful the crystals are in such abundance and the size and various formations were incredible. I felt like had been lowered into another world of such purity, mystique, and natural wonder. Boy does mother earth really know how to put on a show, they had classical music playing and I can tell you the crystals loved it. I think my mouth was dragging along the cave floor the whole time I was in there. Unfortunately I wasn’t allowed to take photos in this cave I did in the Grotte Du Grand Roc though so I have some nice picks to show you.
St Emilloin majestic views of the country side perfect vineyards, beautiful wineries with grand entrances, fields of gold (sunflowers), the town itself was
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
just so pretty, stone pathways great restaurants and places to by wine from the region, macaroons which were the size of a lunch plate and fresh nougat. I sat at a lovely restaurant that was in a large courtyard it was filled with umbrellas and in the centre of all the umbrellas was a huge tree, it was a perfect setting for lunch the sun was shining oh so brightly and the food was truly delicious. I headed off to the cathedral and was lucky enough to be given a tour of the cathedral by the local priest he explained some of the different elements of the cathedral and what they represented. It was really interesting things I would never have considered, the various doors ways you pass through as you enter a church is really a process of purification, the footings of the cathedral are actually representing the shape of a cross. I loved St Emillion so much I spent hours here, you know sometimes you step into a place and It just feels great well that what It feels like here I would have loved to stayed overnight, just not possible I’m afraid.

Millau is nestled in
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
a valley surrounded by rolling mountains with grand views and it is the place to find Frances pride and joy the Viaduct, it’s an amazing bridge that has the world largest pillar. FIND MOR . The town is very clean and it has a sense of being a little exclusive, the stores are quiet expensive and the locals were very well dressed. It is so easy to walk around the main town as it is shaped like a leaf and the two main streets surrounded the main centre, bonus I can’t get lost; I like. Mallau and its region is famous for its Roquefort Cheese so off course a girl has to try the local produces so lunch was mussels cooked in apple cider with a sauce made from Roquefort cheese and I can tell you they were magnificent I felt like I was In the movie when Harry met Sally (No I didn’t really I was going off in my head not out loud well at least I think I was!!!).
I decided to take the tour to see the bridge and mix with some people “lucky for me they were all French and not one of them spoke
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
English” I’m craving a little conversation at this point. The tour guide spoke a little English and explained a little about the construction of the bridge to me. He asked me if I thought it was as spectacular as the Sydney harbor bridge, really It was too hard to compare each very unique and in very different environments, if he insisted I would have gone the Sydney harbor because of its views of the harbor and it’s Australian. That night I headed out of town to my accommodation as I was unpacking the car I could hear a motor bike as I turned around there was a man with the loveliest blue eyes pulling into the car park on his motor bike, as he parked the bike he said hello, wow here comes some conversation. He was French and he had a little knowledge of the English language, we had a chat for a while which was nice and then we went separate ways. Around seven o’clock I headed down stairs to the restaurant for dinner and the waitress sat me beside blue eyes. He notice my puzzled look whist deciding what to order from the menu, thankfully he offered
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
some assistance; yes tonight I will actually know what I’m going to eat the day just gets better and better. We had a great conversation over dinner it broke the silence I had been experiencing over the past few weeks, and to have someone to talk to over dinner was a real treat. After dinner we said good night and that was last time I saw blue eyes. (Get your minds out of the gutter) It’s funny I have met several different people on my travels we have shared stories and sometimes spent the day together strangely though there has been no exchange of names; I’m going have to pick myself up on this.

Terrasson was just one of those really nice town there is a river that runs through it and in the morning the fog was just beginning to lift of the river and the surrounding mountains It looked really dramatic so thankfully I managed to take some very professional shots I must say, have I said how much I’m loving my camera!. Terrasson has a magical garden on the other side of the river called Les Jardins de L’lmaginaire it has the most amazing displays of
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
flowers and trees and carried the fairy theme. Did I go and have a look no stupidly I didn’t this is one of those days where everything I did went up SHIT CREEK. I was trying to fit too much in my day; what a surprise so I took off to find a crystal cave and ended up so far out of my way I’m talking two hours the wrong way, I was furious and poor George called to say hi and I was so grumpy (sorry George). So I look back on this day and remember not to do too much and for goddness sakes I have plenty of time. As she jumps in her car trying to make so use of the day!

La Roque Sanint Christophe it is a world heritage site, at 55000 years old it should be. It is a town that shaped itself into the cliff face there are five terraces that were formed through erosion 60 million years ago. The site was first occupied by the Neanderthal man 50000 B.C and all through the ages, Cro-Magnon man Neolithic, Bronze age, Iron Age, rite through to the Renaissance when it was destroyed of
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
course by war over religion.
The narrow entrance of the fort was its only entrance and it best part of defense; you could see where the rock had been shaped to fit structures such as walls and wells for water. There was a cow shed with iron rings that were used to tie up the animals and off course there was a slaughter house with a smoking room. You could also see where they had dug out of the wall to make a safe with shelves and door. The town was over 300 yards long and its is the biggest natural shelter in all of Europe, there was a church an lookout a well winch to bring water up from the river that ran below. There were remains of a stair case, a winch also a swing crane, really there wasn’t a whole lot to see but I was impressed with the history of the area and what about walking the footsteps of those 50000 years ago. The view from lovely and you could see how being up so high was a great advantage to this site, mind you I wouldn’t want to have been a sleep walker long way
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
to fall.

Today was prehistoric day I stumbled over a place called Maison Forte De Reignac it was also a world heritage site and it a castle. Not the usually kind of castle you find perched high up with a great wall and pointy towers, this castle was actually incased in rock the face of the castle was built in stone and was fairly flush with the rock face, once you got inside the place just opened right up it was extraordinary. There were rooms that went above the face of building as well as below the depth of the castle which held a prison cell, chapel, dungeon, cellar, kitchen and a great hall. There was a large array of artifacts on display such as torture and execution interments, suits of amour; the castle was also fitted out with authentic furniture and the kitchen sink was dugout of the wall thank goodness they didn’t use fine china back then it wouldn’t have lasted a single wash. The floor was made from pebbles all laid out to form a patter and the fire place chimney run up the outside of the building. There was actually a lot of light entering
CarnacCarnacCarnac

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
the structure and I think life would have fairly comfortable here if you weren’t the old hired help that is.
Well I left it a little late to find accommodation didn’t I dam it. I drove and drove and drove until 10.30 that night and if you think I was keeping it together you a WRONG I was doing the freak out of my life. I ended up hours out of my way “AGAIN” sitting under a street light with my computer nearly out of battery preying Please! Please! Please! Then there it was, I found a hotel in the little town I was in so I booked it and sped off like lightning to catch them at the desk. Thankfully the lady was just about to lock up I got the key in my hot little hand and then I fell in a heap. I notice a little restaurant across from the hotel so I raced over and asked if I was too late for dinner, the gentleman wanted to know what I wanted I said anything you have left even just a salad will do I’m not fused. So he sat me down and I ordered my lovely
CarnecCarnecCarnec

Neolithic period prehistoric Stones
Perrier and I melted into the chair with a huge sigh of relief, and way I’m waiting and waiting for my left over salad, well twenty minutes later the lovely waiter walks out with this exquisite plate of food. It was more like a masterpiece than food, he placed it in front of me and said this is made especially just for you; well things do get better don’t they. It was melon balls with finally sliced up capsicum, croutons an amazing sauce, salmon, and eggs the flavor was as exquisite as the presentation. This is one of those meals you just savor every mouth full.

As I went to pay the bill I told the waiter how grateful I was he smiled and only charged me 15 euro and he said the Perrier was on him, he must have noticed I had a bad day and with that his generosity and kind heart made up for the all the shit I had been through, there are good people in this world. You see it not what I saw today or the events the unraveled that will stick in my mind it will be what that lovely waiter did for me that will always be in my heart.

La Rochelle I turned up in this town and really didn’t think much of it, I found a spot under a tree and made some lunch, then I decided to give it the flick and drive on, well after a few wrong turns I found myself in this magnificent Marina I arrived there to be pleasantly greeted with a market that was spread out around the marina ( Note to self : Have a good look before you P off). The market had all sorts of interesting pieces, handmade jewelry, paintings of the local area, sweets, clothing and my favorite was the French man selling! Drum ROLLLLLLLLLL Didgeridoos and boomerangs did I get a kick off this guy. He was trying to get some attention by playing one of them so I took a photo see what you think. There was the weird and wonderful and the odd street performers; I came across a band from South America and I really love their music so I bought a few cds to play in the car while I’m driving, I’m a little tired of the radio I can’t really understand most of what’s being played, there is the odd piece of English music played. TV is the best most of the shows are dubbed my favorite has been Scooby doo speaking French, and every now and then I might strike it lucky and find a show that has French subtitles and is still in English. Anyway was a great day the weather was just perfect and there were so many people on the beach I should have been one of them I think.

I have absolutely fallen in love with France this is an extremely beautiful country, it does have those rolling hills, gorgeous mountains, medieval villages that are so well preserved, flowers, great food, great people let’s not talk about Paris) beautiful weather lovely beaches, superb coastal areas, great shopping unique towns, boundless history, rivers, lakes and of course ice-cream I like their ice-cream. The towns are for the most part very clean the people are hospitable it has been an absolute pleasure to travel this country and I plan on coming back. Tomorrow I head for Switzerland to do a little yodeling so I must get some rest goodnight.



Additional photos below
Photos: 151, Displayed: 34


Advertisement

La RochelleLa Rochelle
La Rochelle

I laughed so much when I saw this, I was glad it was just the bkie and the rider.
La RochelleLa Rochelle
La Rochelle

Street performers at the market
La RochelleLa Rochelle
La Rochelle

Street performers at the market
La RochelleLa Rochelle
La Rochelle

Didgeridoos being sold by the French, Different
La RochelleLa Rochelle
La Rochelle

Where I stopped to eat Lunch


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb