A Brief Stop in France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I tell you what, this trip is throwing me from one amazing event to the next!
I'll set the scene: I arrive safely in Lyon, whereupon I start looking around for hotels.
Now Lyon has 2 stations - Part Deiu and Perrache. I got off at Part Dieu, as that was where the train/bus to the airport was (I picked up the Peugeot at the airport). So I wander for an hour, only finding full hotels. It's 10pm so I train to Perrache to try my luck there. I wander around a bit more before sitting on the steps to a small church (remember, I'm carrying a 25kg backpack) and open my Europe guide to find more hostels. Not 5 minutes goes by before a young lady walks past, and offers to help me. After a few phone calls I'm heading - not to a hostel - but the flat she shares with 3 housemates! I honestly cannot believe my luck!
So Helene and I get to the apartment on the 3rd floor, where I meet Mathieu and Camille, who promptly cook me up some instant Thai soup, cheese and wine (not all in the same bowl!). We then setup a bed in the living room, and I spend the next 2 hours - plus a few hours the next morning - telling them all about my travels. Truly mind-blowing!
I cannot get over how nice the French are! (Not including shopkeepers, who immediately slip into 'resigned annoyance' mode when they hear English)
So things are cruising along nicely. I got the car, driving isn't too bad so long as you keep your right-hand tyres off the kerb (it's harder than you think!) and I'm back in the French Alps visiting Denys again. Oh and its SNOWING! The sky is white, the ground is white, the mountains are white and the air is full of swirling snow!
Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Advertisement



5th March 2008

Travels
Hi Steve, Glad to hear that good 'ol Hospitality is not dead EVERYWHERE:) You can still meet people here and there who have no hidden agendas.... they are just plain NICE :) We've all kept up with your travels with great interest.... each day you'll hear someone say " Has Steve written another Blog yet?What's new? Where is he now, what new sights are they enjoying?"... so, you have a captive audience back home :) Take good care of yourself, see all you can see, come back happy and satisfied.... but I'll guarantee... you'll be off again as soon as you can :) Once the Travel Bug bites, there's no cure :) Keep the great commentaries coming. See you when you get home

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb