The Breathtaking French Alps!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Chamonix
October 1st 2007
Published: October 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Massif du Mont-blancMassif du Mont-blancMassif du Mont-blanc

First impressive view from the road, approaching Chamonix.
Chamonix Mont-Blanc

Pure, dry cold air; amazing scenery; beautiful high mountains where ice and snow never melt; lots of fantastic rock climbing routes; charming towns and small villages...

Chamonix is a very special place.

I camped right at the foot of the Glacier Les Bossons for 2 weeks and was surprised to be able to walk around in the morning wearing a t-shirt when the thermometer showed 5°C. I got out-of-breath and nearly fainted when I walked too fast up stairs in the Aiguille du Midi observatory, some 3000m high. I felt comfortable climbing on my own using my rope clamp, but was even happier to meet up other climbers, have a real belayer and company to visit the Swiss and Italian borders.

I seriously thought about staying in Chamonix to learn French and try a bit of winter sports in the mountain.

However the days were clearly becoming shorter and colder, my bike was telling me there was plenty more to travel and the call from the warmer south was quite irresistable. It was time to turn my back to the freezing, mysterious peaks I scrutinised with my bare eyes for two weeks, and look
My bike on Les 2 GlaciersMy bike on Les 2 GlaciersMy bike on Les 2 Glaciers

Arriving at the campsite. Les Bossons glacier at the back.
down to the green luxury of the Gorges d'Ardeche - that's the next chapter! 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Les Brevent and Chamonix ValeyLes Brevent and Chamonix Valey
Les Brevent and Chamonix Valey

Going up the téléphérique to l'Aiguille du Midi.
Le TéléfériqueLe Téléférique
Le Téléférique

Going up from the Plan, with Les Bossons glacier at the back.
l'Aiguille du Midil'Aiguille du Midi
l'Aiguille du Midi

View from the Plan


Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0977s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb