Travel time!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Aix-les-Bains
March 10th 2012
Published: March 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

This trip has truly been the most amazing oppotunity. When applying to graduate school, I never imagined getting to travel to Europe and meet fascinating people would be a part of my education!

Over the past few weeks, I've gotten a chance to do some traveling around france and see some incredible sights. Two friends of mine from the states visited, and I had a wonderful time while they were here! I was actually co-authoring papers with both of them, so we took the opportunity to write while we were watching the french country side go by on train rides, or sitting beside the medeteranian sea, the eiffel tower, or the french alps. I'm pretty sure those are the best "offices" I've ever had.

The innovation project seems to be going very smoothly over here. The students have come up with some great ideas for app plans that creatively and sustainably address an ecological issue through behavior change strategies. They turned in their first draft of their multiteam system project a few weeks ago, and subject matter experts evaluated these and gave them feedback. They now have three weeks to revise and resubmit these projects. I am interested to see how they apply the feedback in their final drafts!

I'm planning to add a few travel blogs that show where I've been over the past few weeks. Here is the first... Aix Les Bains and Annecy. Dr. Chollet and his girlfriend live in the small town of Aix Les Bains about an hour away from Grenoble. He takes the (amazing) public transportation system to work each day but gets to live in a quaint and beautiful town with a lot of history. He and his girlfriend were kind enough to pick my friend and me up from the train station, show us around Aix Les Bains and then take us to the nearby town of Annecy. The lake at Annecy was BREATHTAKING. The area called "old town Annecy" was fascinating too. We toured an historical cathedral and wandered around the interesting shops and restaurants. Here are the pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb