Day 36 - Marseille


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Finally. I'm actually blogging about what I did today, instead of what I did a week and a half ago.

I wanted to get a feel for the city today, so I decided to walk to the port via the old town and the cathedral and then see the 3 castles that guard the port. Also I wanted to have a look at the jardin du pharo (the Pharoe's Garden). Before heading back to the hostel via the new town. The old town was run down and not very interesting. The port was OK the closer you got to the centre-ville. Away from there it was all under construction, or so it seemed. One of the castles had scaffholding all around it, another was just a squat concrete block on a hill, and I couldn't see the third one. The gardens were formal gardens for the Pharoe's Castle. I ate lunch sitting on a bench voerlooking the sea which was nice. I then headed back to the hostel via the new town which I liked much more.

Still all things considered I'm not particularly impressed with Marseille. Oh well.

I also witnessed another bag snatch earlier. Someone grabbed a bag from a cafe. I think it was sitting on the floor when they grabbed it, though I'm not certain. Interesting isn't it that in the previous 9 countries I saw no crime. However, in 2 days I've seen 2 thefts in France.

Tomorrow I'm catching a train to Barcelona at 6am. So an early night and a good nights sleep would be useful

Advertisement



Tot: 0.478s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1944s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb