Funny Fishermen, Angry Seagulls and a Perfect Meal


Advertisement
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Making an espresso
My morning started with a cup of espresso. My room is equipped with a Nespresso machine and it is loveliness in a small cup. I stepped out on the balcony and sipped my coffee while listening and watching Marseille wake up.

I do think that many Marseillais had a late night last night. I was thinking about how loud and chaotic the Vieux Port was at night. It took watching the morning news to see that there was a huge soccer win for the Marseille team (against Montpellier) and those were the sounds of some very happy and rowdy soccer fans!! So no gunshots … just fireworks … phew!

I do have to say that I am just enjoying being in France and being surrounded by anything and everything that is French. It took me over a week to do so but I finally turned on the television and had a good time just watching French television including a crime show called Présumé Innocent … the France version of 48 Hours Mystery. I am looking forward to seeing Italy, Spain and Portugal but I do have to say that France has so far tugged at my heart strings.
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Had to put it down before hopping on the balcony ... the step is about two feet high


After being fully caffeinated, I was ready to hit Marseille by storm. The weather was perfect in the early morning and it would hold out throughout the rest of the day. The first thing on the list for today was to take the Frioul Express to the Île d’If and visit the Château d’If. I got to the ferry terminal and had 30 minutes to kill before the boat would head out towards the island. That gave me a chance to go back and see some of the fishermen who were bringing in this morning’s catch. There were locals buying sardines that had literally been pulled from the nets just minutes earlier. The fishermen are loud, gregarious and get a kick out of anyone who dares take their photo. They egg each other on to smile for the camera.

The ferry left for the Île d’If for what would be a 20 minute ride. It was nice to see the Vieux Port from the other side. You could also see a great view of the Basilique Notre Dame de Grace from high atop its vantage point.

The Chateau d’If was built over a seven-year period ending in 1531. It is initially conceived as a fortress in order to protect Marseille but it was eventually converted into a prison. It’s location on an island was meant to make the prison inescapable. The Château d’If was also made infamous as it is featured in the Alexandre Dumas classic “The Count of Monte Cristo”. You can visit liberally around the island and the fortress/prison. There is a sign at the entrance that says to watch for the seagulls. They are a little bit more aggressive due to this being their mating season. That would be just my luck … being pecked to death by a seagull!!

I made my way back to the ferry which would bring me back to the Vieux-Port. I then wandered around the small streets on the Quai du Port, which are filled with restaurants and souvenir shops. This would then take me to Les Cathedrales de la Major. This is an enormous cathedral and one that seems relatively new. Well if built in 1896 is considered new ... This is an imposing cathedral. Funnily enough there is no real mention of this cathedral in my guidebook and yet it is such an impressive sight. So I had to look it up on the internet. There is a mention that you can obviously use this cathedral for a wedding. There is a lovely picture of a even lovelier couple ... the bride is about 8 months pregnant ... mmmm odd ... well for a church at least!!

I continued walking through the streets of Marseille and hopped on the metro to reach the Cours Julien. The reason I wanted to go there was to visit the Savon de Marseille who have free tours which show how their soaps are made. Unfortunately it was closed. I wandered around the Cours Julien and eventually stopped at the Mélo Café for an early supper. Sitting out on a terrace, enjoying the sun and eating incredible food is completely what I had envisioned for this trip. The menu fixe of the day included a beef carpaccio (yum!), salmon (yummier) and for dessert a crème brulée (yummiest!!).

After essentially sitting in this café for a couple of hours, I made my way back to the metro (or rolled my way back more like it) and back to the area around my hotel. I wandered up La Canebière. This is a large street lined with boutiques, restaurants and is chaotically busy. This reminded me of Gran Via in Madrid which is just as crazy. And I don't think that I was even getting the full effect seeing that some of the shops were closed!!

And that is how my day would end in Marseille. I’ve made reservations for the train and will be heading out for a small day trip to Avignon tomorrow. I’ve had the song Sur Le Pont D’Avignon in my head since then … mmmm … this might keep me up all night!



Additional photos below
Photos: 95, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Bonjour Mademoiselle
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Fresh sardines
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

Someone told him I was taking his picture
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

I told him as was going for nonchalant ... that's him acting as if he doesn't know I'm there!!


5th May 2011

Here I am, still in Marseille. Looks like a lovely place! The Château d'If reminds me of the "Fort Boyard" show I used to watch:) Amazing photos! Keep enjoying...carpe diem:)

Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0988s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb