Paris, before Africa


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
June 3rd 2010
Published: June 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I went to Paris for 3 days on my way to Africa. Its such a beautiful city, I went there 3 years ago very briefly but I loved it this time just wandering around by myself. It was strange being in a place where no one really spoke english for 3 whole days by myself. I got speaking withdrawal symptoms I think, when I got to the ship many of the other girls mentioned the same thing! Of course I tried to speak some Francais which the Parisians appreciate, but I couldn't really understand when they talked back to me.

My days were filled up with going to the Louve & Musee D'Orsay museums mostly. Loved the impressionist paitings from artists like Monet, Renoir & Pissarro-probably because they were of pretty landscapes and light and happy. The Louve was HUGE, and was exhausting to walk through but there were so many amazing old (especially 15th century) and large paintings that you get used to them unfortunately, and there were so many people there, so it wasn't exactly relaxing, but it was worth it. I couldn't believe how majestic and solid it was, apparently it was a royal palace, not surprising at all.

I also spent a bit of time walking through the Tuileries garden which was close to my hotel. It is a large long beautiful garden made of sand and grass and lots of the Parisians spend time there, sunbathing in their business suits and meeting friends etc. I walked up the Champs-Elysees to the Arc de Triumphe again and then went to Sacre Couer cathedral which is about 10 mins by train out of Paris centre. It was a great spot on a hill to get a great view of Paris. The inside of the church was really large and beautiful and amazingly quiet and serene.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb