A day with raquettes


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Ariege
February 15th 2009
Published: February 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Utterly exhausting, but what views. We're home now and it's 8.30 p.m. Can I go to bed now please?


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

All booted up & ready to goAll booted up & ready to go
All booted up & ready to go

Getting through snow on these may be the most exhausting thing we've ever done. Listening to the snow creaking and cracking beneath us was quite an exhilarating part of the experience
Montesegur, as we started our walkMontesegur, as we started our walk
Montesegur, as we started our walk

We were walking up and away from here, but this was the view as we set off
Walking through the forestWalking through the forest
Walking through the forest

The snow was so deep. We spotted fox prints (they carefully tread in their own prints, making a sort of single line), and squirrel prints (tiny, slight front paw marks, heavier rear ones)
Above Montsegur now....Above Montsegur now....
Above Montsegur now....

....and still climbing
Still climbing upwards...Still climbing upwards...
Still climbing upwards...

....and this is the view


16th February 2009

The views from your skiing is amazing. I would probably gotten height fright....I love the sound of snow cracking under my feet... It is just amazing what nature can do itself..it looks like you had a wonderful day even if it was exhausting. I have actually never tried skiing myself but I would love to ..
22nd February 2009

Well, I'd never have the nerve to try skiiing- raquettes or snow shoes is more than enough challenge for me. And no scary cliff tops to contend with, so height-fright not an option. Trust me, I'm dead scared of tops-of-church-tower type heights.

Tot: 0.349s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb