First Trip


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lorraine » Metz
January 15th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ii'll give a quick recap of the past few days:
On Tuesday night me and my friends went to Lux city. I got a feel for the train system and how to get around. Other people ride the train/bus to class everyday, but since I walk I haven't gotten a hang of things yet. The city was fun, and I definitely want to go back during the day to walk around a little more.
Yesterday after classes we had a host family reception at the Chateau. My host mom and brother went. It was a little awkward at first, but one more people came (and once my Nadine, my host mom, had people to talk to that she knew, it was MUCH less awkward). I introduced her to a lot of my friends, and they all seem to like her. She even told some of them that she's my second mom!
Today we split up into our orientation groups and we all took trips to different places. My group went to Metz, France, which is only about an hour away. There we had a two hour tour of the city, and one hour to walk around and explore ourselves. THe tour was freezing cold of course, but the city is gorgeous! We went into a cathedral that was build from 1300-1500 and has the most stained glass of any cathedral in France. Metz is so different than any city in America of comparable size (200,000 people). There are no high rises, only very old looking buildings mostly made of yellow stone found in the area. The Mossel River runs right through the city. I just wish it was warm so we could have eatten at a cafe on the river! THe streets were very narrow and I actually thought they were sidewalks until cars came down them. It was strange, though, becuase everyone was walking in the middle of the street and they'd just move out of the way of the cars whenever they came by. By the way, Mom, these street were cobblestone (unlike the onces in Luxembourg and Differdange).
Tomorrow I plan to go to Trier, Germany with some girls, so I'll let you all know how that goes!
I miss everyone!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb