Paris - le coeur d'Europe


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
July 15th 2014
Published: July 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I am so incredibly happy to be in Paris. To me, this city is the heart of Western Europe, I could come back here time and time again. It is an absolutely spectacular city with new adventures and old friends around every corner. The majority of my time in Paris was simply spent walking for hours around the city (in the rain most days) just to explore it.

Unfortunately Paris did not start off on the best note. Our train in London ended up being delayed for two hours! We didn't get to our hostel until after midnight. What a long day! However, Eurostar was very kind and accommodating and even refunded half the price of our tickets.

The hostel we stayed in was a chain of hostels called st. Christophers inns. It's not bad, very clean and spacious. However, there is really no kitchen or common room, which is disappointing. I like being able to cook, especially in a city like Paris where everything is so expensive. But it was a nice hostel, which even had privacy curtains on each bed. The location is a bit of a walk from the center of town and all tourist attractions, but it's worth the reduction in price.

Our first day was literally just spent walking. We walked from the hostel in gare du nord to the louvre, then past musée d'orsay, and all the way to the Eiffel Tower. We just on a short (and in my opinion overpriced) river tour and then walked back to the hostel, stopping at notre dame on the way. We had a quiet, early night at the hostel. It was a very nice day.

Day two of Paris was spent at Disneyland Paris! It was so so soooo much fun. It's very very similar to the Orlando and California parks, which makes it a home away from home almost. Space mountain is really fun here, way better than the other space mountains. You do loops and everything. We had a great day. And because of the rain and it being a week day it wasn't too too busy. The longest line we had was a half hour. its definitely good to do for a day, but no more as it's quite small. We had dinner at Breizh café which is a hipster crêperie recommended to me by my parents. the crepes are expensive but they are delicious and unique. Even the drinks there are something I have never seen before. I had a cider/crême de cassis. It was unbelievable. Definitely worth a visit, but it is so popular you often have to wait outside- 110% worth it though.

i spent the next morning on my own at the musée d'orsay. It is such a great museum, even just to see the architecture. I had a great three hours there. The afternoon was spent relaxing as the catacombs were too busy and we wanted to rest our feet for the evening. The evening was spent doing a 2 hour walking tour of Montmartre, which is the old arts district. If you're into art, this is definitely a place to check out. Some crazy history went on in Montmartre. Additionally we decided to climb up the stairs to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Unfortunately you can't climb the stairs all the way to the top, only to the second terrace and then you have to take the elevator. seeing Paris by night is absolutely amazing, I would highly recommend doing the stairs for the view. You really notice how high you are climbing when you use the stairs. But it is a lot of stairs, so be prepared. I have never been so awestruck as I was at the top of that tower, I feel so blessed to have this life.

the next day was spent at Versailles for five hours! Goodness that palace and it's gardens are huge. I even found a little peace in the corner of the gardens to do some yoga. It was very surreal and peaceful and wonderful. A must see on your next trip to Paris!

The last day was spent walking around the louvre gardens. We really pnly had the morning to explore so we didn't want tot get caught in a line and lose track of time. The one thing I have to say about Paris is that unless you go to an absolute gem of a restaurant, the food really isn't that good. And it's very over priced. I mean, it's definitely not bad, it's just nothing special.

I can't wait to come back to this magical city again, hopefully I can see more of the city that I have not yet seen. Aurevoir Paris, comme tu es belle! Xoxo

Advertisement



16th July 2014

You'll see it again . . .
Paris is great, isn't it. I hope you'll have a chance to come back again and again through your whole life.
16th July 2014

Love your blog
So much fun reading your blogs. Love that you are enjoying the same things we did, and I can't wait to see these places again. You will have a great reminder to boost the memories you are making.

Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb