D30: Paris, I have returned... to find many many queues.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
July 30th 2013
Published: July 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I forgot how much I don't like big tourist cities at the end of July/early August. It seems everyone else is in them with you.

I had wanted to do two things today - neither which I did haha. Oh well, still a good day.

I was going to do the Catacombs but at 9h45 there was already an hour and a half wait (opens at 10h). Me, being silly, thought I would come back later. (Here's a hint - the line didn't get shorter). When I came back at 14h45 they told me not to bother lining up because last entry is 16h and I won't make it in. Awesome. Put that on the "next time" list.

I headed over to Notre Dame because last time I was here I didn't go up in the Tower and I kind of regretted it, so this time it was happening!

I went in the Cathedral first because we all know my love of Cathedrals. This really is one of my favourites, if not my favourite. The chandeliers and lighting everywhere is so beautifully done and I love all the statues by the stain-glass windows - they create exquisite silhouettes.

I may or may not have been singing a variety of songs in my head throughout my entire visit. Notably, songs from the Disney movie, "Belle" from the French "Notre Dame de Paris", and "Le temps de cathedrales". Ah oui, c'etait le fun.

My walk back along the Seine was basically me thinking of "Les Miserables" and that was my music on the metro today. Aw yeah.

Between stopping at cafes, little shops and a supermarket I have discovered that when you say "Allo" here people don't pick up on the French accent of it... and think you're another nationality so go to English. It took me awhile to pick up on that - I've never really thought of it because back home "Allo" is well understood French haha. It's weird saying "bonjour" instead.

Last time I was here I didn't see the Arc de Triomphe, so I headed off that way. It's a nice structure... not much else to say haha. I was honestly more impressed with the round-a-bout than the Arc... how people drive in that thing I haven't the foggiest idea. No lights, no real lanes that I could see, but everything was moving very smoothly. Impressive.

(Sidenote: Overheard a lovely conversation where two girls were talking about Place Charle de Goalie. Take a second and think who that is. Think... Think... Of course, Charles de Gaulle! Best pronunciation attempt yet. Goalie. Ha.)

Anyway, I walked down towards the Eiffel Tower because I had requests for more pictures and well, why not really.

This sounds so jaded of me, but it really is not that impressive of a tower... I don't know. I think it's funny that you can be a few blocks away and not see it. Don't get me wrong, if you're in Paris you have to see it, and yes, I did climb it last time... but I just do find it amusing.

(PS. It's lit up like a Christmas tree at night. Now you can see it from everywhere. I'm laughing.)

I have to give the beggar ladies credit at the Tower - they've upped their game since last time I was here! Now it's not just "do you speak English" followed by a long dramatic story of a relative back home with cancer (... they all had the same damn story... at least be creative!) Anyway, now they're all going around with "petitions" for you to sign to "help the deaf and blind children" ... only after you sign everything they ask for the donation. And if you give less than 20 euros (!!! AHAHAHA) they say the minimum is 20 euros and run off with whatever you gave them if you still haven't picked up on it. It's madness. Creative. But madness. It was interesting to watch.

Anywho. The Tower is still as photogenic as ever. From there I bopped around the smaller streets and then it started to rain, so I headed back towards the Catacombes which we know I didn't get into... okfine.

I have a lot of stuff to get organized for when I get back to the UK (most pressing - I have no where to stay at the moment... minor detail), rest of the afternoon was spent sitting on the terrace of the hostel just trying to get organized. Not exactly how most people spend their time in Paris, I grant you, but oh well. Basically, my experience today just tells me I'll have to pop over to Paris at some point during the
Arc de TriompheArc de TriompheArc de Triomphe

And Charle de Goalie
year when it's not crazy tourist season 😊

It's a tough sacrifice, I know.

And on a final fun note - my roomie is from Almonte and also went to UofO. Small world, eh? I love it. Nice to talk a little about home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.531s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb