What I Didn't Learn in School


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
June 28th 2013
Published: June 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

You have no idea how insanely overdue this blog is, so much has happened in the past month! And my apologies now, my post is going to be pretty half-@$$ed too.



Early this month, I arrived in Paris (with an uncontrollable grin on my face) for my first ever Eurotrip. Paris is as beautiful as they say, every street looks like a postcard. Tiled roofs with little chimneys, cafés on every corner, people on bicycles carrying baguettes. I indulged in bread, cheese, and wine and walked as much as my body could bear. As for the French I spent 4 years learning in school? I could read signs and menus and ask directions, but couldn't hold a conversation for more than 1 minute. I need some practice.

Here's the quick version of my time in France:

Motorbike tour of the city by night- Eiffel tower, L'Arc de Triumphe, Champs Elyseé, Pont Alexandre, L'Obélisque

The Louvre- 5 hours and I didn't even see every wing. Mona Lisa was wildly disappointing and so small in person. The building itself was incredible, must've been an amazing palace.

Notre Dame- massive and fascinating

Versailles- just the gardens, the palace was closed. But that was enough for a day...

Museé D'Orsay- saw ALL the impressionists and more, fell in love with so many pieces (Degas, Seurat, Renoir, van Gogh...)

From Paris I headed to Lyon, where I met lots of people through my couchsurfing host. The city is just as beautiful as Paris, but much smaller and quieter. It was a nice change of pace and felt more relaxing. I saw the big sites in town, though none of them would probably ring a bell to you. At the end of my stay, I met a French guy named Hervé (through couchsurfing) and he decided to join me for a week on my travels. It was so nice to have a travel buddy again!

And thus began my crazy journey hitchhiking through Italy. This is still in progress, so I will save the juicy stories for my next blog. Now you have something to look forward to- you're welcome 😉 Sooner this time I swear!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



28th June 2013

yep
You're so awesome!
19th July 2013

HOW ARE YOU DOING THIS?!
I am in total awe of you! How are you doing this?! I wish I knew you were going..would be totally down! How long are you traveling? Until money runs out?....how are you funding this?! certainly not with the money you made in Thailand!! Are you doing all couch surfing? Please tell me more! I am going to read more because I just discovered this but love you, be safe and be proud you are living a life of no regret.

Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb