In Paris, Goin' Gorillas


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
February 26th 2012
Published: February 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well yesterday and today I've been in The City of Love a solo! Yesterday was a failure but today I was victorious. I will recount both for the reader's amusement.

Day Un

Yesterday I essentially cried uncontrollably while I tried to go to the Louvre. I was feeling lonely and homesick and could not stop crying. This made it hard to ask for directions because it's hard to speak clearly in a foreign language when you're sobbing.

The Louvre is not located at the metro stop called Louvres. I was headed there and had been on the metro for a good half hour before I realized that the surrounding area was looking more and more like Compton. I decided to turn around.

A stranger on the train saw how pathetic I looked and tried to comfort me in French and Spanish. It was very kind, he patted my knee and gave me a smile.

I then made it to the correct metro stop! I walked around for hours circumventing the Louvre, unable to find the entrance. I succeeded in finding a protest for animal rights and McDonalds. I will try again tomorrow.

Last night Kiran's sister Tara told me to come over. She saved me! She gave me a hug, some stew, and a map. Most importantly, she talked to me. It's amazing what a friendly face will do 😊

With Tara's map and advice, this morning I set out for:



Day Deux.

I went to the Bastille today! Or at least I think I did. I know I was near it and I found a large pillar but can't tell if there's like, supposed to be a building.

Next I went to the market near the Bastille. This was amazing! There were stalls heaped with fruits as far as the eye could see. Wheels of smelly cheese bigger than your head were stacked into grandiose towers of...cheese. There were all sorts of meats and pattes and every merchant was yelling to passersby, declaring the superiority of their wares.

I got to pet a puppy that was owned by some homeless Romanian brothers. They were very nice and they had 4 dogs! Though I don't speak Romanian nor French I understood that they said they would use the Euro I gave them to buy the dogs churros. Dogs don't eat churros!!!

Next I went to get a sandwhich. I ordered one with "tres fromage". It was the most cheesy cheese I've ever tasted. It was almost too much cheese for me which I never thought could happen. These Europeans CRAY.

I walked toways the Mosquee that Tara said was nice to drink at but on the way espied a pretty building in the distance. I was drawn to it like a tourist to pretty buildings and upon arrival realized that it was Notre Dame. (This proves my good taste).

It's magnificent. There are hideous and weathered gargoyles protruding from the buttresses, their eroded faces still clearly leering at those below. I saw the doors and remembered learning all about them in Art History. Unfortunately I failed to remember exactly what I learned... :/

I then continued to the Mosquee as Tara suggested. It wasn't untill I was sitting in the atrium, drinking the mint tea she said to order and admiring the decorative Arabic script that I realized I was not in fact at the Mosquee. I was at a museum of Arab art. This made me laugh -- I'm pretty hopeless with directions.

Next I walked around the Open Air Sculpture Garden. It's fabulous - it's a modest garden that winds along the shore of the Seine. Modern monoliths are unlabled, scattered amongst gnarled trees and old rocks.

I next went to the Plant Garden near the Natural History museum. I took lots of pictures of plants and one of a kid. She was really cute but I still felt creepy.

I still have tomorrow in Paris. Will it be a failure? A triumph? Will I manage to write my 2 essays due this week and still complete my Adfrenchver? I don't know.

Advertisement



26th February 2012

Louvres
The entrance to the Louvres is in the triangluar glass structure in the courtyard...which doesn't look like it fits with the rest of the structure. Hope you find it before you have to leave...it's amazing! Also...the area where Sacre Coure is...the huge white church located above the city is a great area for strolling and looking at local art. However, walking up the streets and the large hill to get there will be a challenge...I took a taxi!!!

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb