Paris, France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 12th 2013
Published: October 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Atlanta, GA to Paris, France


I am off on another European journey. My first stop is Paris. This city is easy to get in and out of, and quite frankly, it is a beautiful and wonderful city to visit. I love traveling here. This year however, I came to Paris to do one thing, and that was to visit the Catacombs. This was my main objective. I visited last year, and I was in line for the Catacombs, but the doors closed when I was about to go in. I made it my mission to return one day and visit. I arrive, and I have to find my hostel. I get off the plane, find the rail station, and make my way to my stop. This year I am staying at a new St. Christopher's hostel, and it is actually very near the train station. After getting turned around more than once, I see my hostel. It is always a a big relief when I do find my hostel. I was happy as I coud be. The St. Christopher's hostel is a new hostel, and it was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. I was well pleased as how clean this hostel was. Okay, it is new, but it was very clean. I could not check in yet, so I stored my things in a locker, got directions to the Catacombs, and off I go.

I arrive and the que was a bit long. Actually it appeared longer than when I qued up last year, but I got in the que none the less. It was before 2:00 in the afternoon, and I knew I had a good shot of getting in this time. I stand for about one hour and fifteen to twenty minutes or so, and it is my turn in. I was very happy at this point. I pay the entrance fee, and make my way down.

The Catacombs are underground, and takes a bit of walking to see what I really wanted to see. This my be a little grotesque, but the Catacombs are a buriel ground for hundreds of thousands of people. When you walk through, the rows on each side are lined with all of the bones, and in the middle are the skulls. You are not supose to touch them, and this is heavy with security. Apparantly in the years past, people would actually steal the bones. Go figure that one. Any way, I stay down there for maybe two hours, make some photos, and head back up. I depart in a totally seperate area from where I entered, and I was completely turned around as to where I was at. Oh, and of course it starts to rain.

I finally make my way to the metro station, board the train, and make my way back to my hostel. After checking in, cleaning up, and resting a bit, it was time to go out. I start out, and I realize that this is the grand opening for this hostel, St. Christophers Inn, that I am staying. I decide to hang around for the festivities. There were finger foods, snacks, as well as live entertainment. The band played 80's and 90's music, so it was perfect. I stayed until closing time of the main area, and then we were sent downstairs to another location where another band played. They were really good as well, and they had many different performers with different costumes for each song. I stayed an hour or so, and then I go up to get some shuteye. Long day, and I will be checking out tomorrow for London. I ony booked the one day, for I have been to Paris several times in the past, and I have pretty much done what I wanted to do before. I would have some time in the morning, so I thought I would do something then.

I awake and go to check out. I rented my locker for twenty four hours, so I had a few hours left before I technically had to depart. As cheap as I am, I wanted to get every bit of value, so I leave my things there and go to the Arc of Triumph. The Arc de Triomphe de l'Etoile as it is called, is one of the most famous monuments in Paris. It stands in the centre of the Place Charles de Gaulle (originally named Place de l'Étoile), at the western end of the Champs-Elysees. I get off the metro and gaze at this magnificant structure for a bit, take some photos, and then decide what to do next. Of course here comes the rain, so not much walking did I want to do. I did start down the Champs-Elysees, which is one of the most famous shopping streets in the world, but I did not go very far before I decided I did not want to be wet and miserable on my train. I decide to go back to my hostel and just hang out. I do this until time for my locker is up. I collect my things, and I make my way to the train station. Luckily it was very close. I had to go through customs, border patrol and security before waiting for my train for my next destination which is London. No problems there, just never had to do this while travelling in Europe thus far.

Once again, Paris is a beautiful city to visit. One day is definetly not enough, but my itinerary only called for that this particular trip. maybe I will be fortunate enough to visit again one day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb