The day my parents tried Couchsurfing for the 1st time!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 16th 2013
Published: August 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

This week, I was staying at my parents' place near Paris for a week holiday and two of my good friends in Cologne (from China and Philippines), joined me for a 2 day-trip there.

So for my parents having my 2 friends from China and from Philippines at home was almost like to do couchsurfing. I was really looking forward to seeing how my parents would be with my friends, who cannot speak the same language and do not share the same culture. And I have to say that I was really amazed and happy to see how my parents behaved with the both of them. Both of them spoke English or a bit of German with them, ask them questions, smiled, laughed,...

I could not have dreamt of a better stay with them.

On the last day my mother was really cute when she told me "we HAVE TO take a pictures of all of us tonight". I really felt that she had a good time with them. My parents love travelling -that's thanks to them that I am travelling that much and can travel alone without fear-, so, I think they like meeting people from other cultures and sharing some time with them.

The last evening we had a dinner all together, with my sister as well, with various dishes: from China, Philippines and France. It was a great night. To celebrate, my parents offered to my friends to taste and drink some French alcohol: Floc de Gascogne and Champagne. Girls liked them.

It was also very nice to see my sister talking English with my friends. She really can speak well English now and she is always eager to tell stories.

This post was not an usual one, since it was not talking so much about one of my trip abroad but I was so happy today about this meeting in Paris, that I wanted to share it! So to conclude: I love my family, my friends and Couchsurfing and having the 3 of them at the same time is just great!

Advertisement



4th November 2013

Salute
you should have written the story about "salute", as a tip for non-french speakers:D
1st December 2013

Salut
Lol, for non French speaker, you should say "Salut" as an unformal way to say hi to someone. Don't say it to your friend's father when you meet him :p

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb