Long lost, and on the run (Pictures!)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 28th 2005
Published: February 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Rodin HandsRodin HandsRodin Hands

The Rodin musee was a good size, and filled with excellent work. His sculpture style is very loose qnd expressive, almost like a carved gesture sketch. I loved it.
Hey!
Well, it's been awhile since I last updated, and another couple of weeks have blurred by. Snow hit the city hard last weekend, and even though the skies are blue now, the temprature is -2 to -6 degrees C. Power went out at the school on monday, so students were locked out for the rest of the week while they fixed electricity stuff. For me this ment a very long week of wandering, museums, doodling, and avoiding being outside in the frozen city as much as possibile. Highlights were the Rodin sculpture museum, the Marais and Bastielle areas at night, and a swingin underground jazz club with new american friends
Today we've been let back into the building, so I'm trying to get as much animation done today before catching a flight to Ireland tomorrow! With another week off, and dirt-cheap plane tickets, there was no way I could resist. I've booked 3 nights at a hostel in Dublin, and who knows where the rest of the week will take me. Any must-see advice from people who have been there appreciated. I'm just looking forward to speaking english, warm pubs and music, and meeting other travellers. I'll return the following
Hmmm.Hmmm.Hmmm.

Someone has got some thinking to do... Rodin's most famous sculpture.
tuesday with lots of pictures. Dublin is also boasting a hearty 5 degrees C at the moment, so I can't wait.
Here's a bunch of random shots from the week. More comics on the way later as well. Happy March!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

WomanWoman
Woman

I really liked this one, with the weight on her shoulders and the emotion alongside it.
InvadersInvaders
Invaders

This made me double-take.
TransportTransport
Transport

I've ditched the metro and now get around the city on my snazzy WINGED VESPA. Yep.
GeodeGeode
Geode

Okay, so I was actually at the Cite de Science et Industries, a giant kid-friendly science museum in northern Paris. Across the way is the Geode, where they play imax-style movies.
FranquinFranquin
Franquin

I went to la Cite to see an exibit on Franquin, a celebrated French comic artist. We only know his through the disney-bought character Marsupalami (remember?) But he's been making unique characters for ages. My favorite was his book of morbid, but hillarious Idee Noirs (Black ideas.)
Mas marsupalamis....Mas marsupalamis....
Mas marsupalamis....

Adorable long tailed things all over the place. Like the motion in these sketches? It's there because Franquin was an animator before he was a comic artist! Wooo animators!
Hello, Kelly.Hello, Kelly.
Hello, Kelly.

Had to take a picture of this to convince myself I wasn't hallucinating. Along rue Rivoli.
UndergroundUnderground
Underground

Swingin' action from the live band and quick-footed Parisians in the catacombs-style jazz club.
See, it's cold.See, it's cold.
See, it's cold.

The park by my apartment, now coated in white, icy fluff.
Snow garcon.Snow garcon.
Snow garcon.

This little guy was sitting in the courtyard, one morning.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Paris says goodnight to all its busy people.


28th February 2005

Now with wings!
At first I thought, "A winged Vespa... Why?" But then I thought, "That is so COOL! I might have to have my characters ride/fly one of those." The Cite de Science et Industries looks like a fun place. Photos, if you got 'em. Tell the creators of that Invaders place that they owe Atari some back royalties, BIG time. I am not a fool! - Daniel
28th February 2005

AYE!
my heart ACHES with jealousy that you're going to Ireland... and are legal drinking age. It also envies that swingin' underground jazz scene. i'm guilty of the deadly sin of "envy", it would seem... have a totally awesome time! take lots of pictures :)
28th February 2005

FRANQUIN
FRANQUIN!?!?!? SUPER DUPER JEALOUS! HOLY CRAP! OH MY GOSH! KELLY!!! Franquin is AWESOME! THE BEST! :D FREAKING OUT EHRE!!!! *BEEP BEEP BEEP* Ed - Ed
2nd March 2005

Miss you
I wanna join you in Paris!! I need a break, I am tired of my project. - Wynne
2nd March 2005

Cosmic
Yes indeed. The winged Vespa is breathtaking. I could be some cosmic being in some Pink Floyd video if I flew that thing. Where did you find that? Looking forward to Irish pub stories. Post pub song lyrics if ya can! -Lars - Lars

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb